David Cromer Returns to OUR TOWN 8/24

By: Aug. 23, 2010
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

Obie and Lucille Lortel Award winner David Cromer, who directed and originated the role of "The Stage Manager" in this record-breaking landmark production of Thornton Wilder's Our Town at the Barrow Street Theatre returns for the final three weeks of performances beginning Tuesday, August 24th. In addition, Scott Parkinson, who appeared in the role last summer, will play matinee performances on August 28th & 29th and September 4th & 5th. Mr. Cromer succeeds Academy Award-nominee Michael McKean who gave his final performance on Sunday evening, August 22nd following a three-week return engagement.

Producers Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian and Tom Wirtshafter previously announced the play will give its final performance on Sunday evening, September 12th.

The iconic ‘Stage Manager' role in this production of Our Town has been performed by seven actors, including Mr. Cromer, Mr. Parkinson, Jason Butler Harner, Stephen Kunken, Michael Shannon, Mr. McKean and Helen Hunt.

David Cromer's award-winning staging of Wilder's play began performances on February 17, 2009, with an official opening night on February 26, 2009 where it received rave reviews at the downtown venue. Our Town went on to win the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Production and Outstanding Direction and Obie Award for Outstanding Director. This current staging of Our Town entered its second year on February 26th and became the longest-running production of the play in its 72-year history with its record-breaking 337th performance on December 16, 2009. At closing it will have given 14 preview and 644 regular performances.

The current cast of Our Town includes (in alphabetical order) Elizabeth Audley as Mrs. Soames, Jeremy Beiler as Simon Stimson, Robert Beitzel as Howie Newsome, Kati Brazda as Mrs. Webb, Will Brill as Joe Crowell, Jr, David Cromer as the Stage Manager, Nathan Dame as Sam Craig, Roger E. DeWitt as Joe Stoddard, Ann Dowd as Mrs. Gibbs, Emma Galvin as Rebecca Gibbs, Jennifer Grace as Emily Webb, Mark Hattan as Constable Warren, Noah Galvin as Wally Webb, David Manis as Mr. Webb, Scott Parkinson as Professor Willard, James McMenamin as George Gibbs, Jeff Still as Doc Gibbs, Jason Yachanin as Si Crowell, with Dana Jacks, Lynn Laurence, Kathleen Peirce, Keith Perry and Mark Shock.

Our Town is produced by Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, Ted Snowdon, Eagle Productions, Dena Hammerstein/Pam Pariseau, The Weinstein Company, and Burnt Umber Productions.

The performance schedule is as follows: Tuesday - Friday at 7:30 p.m., Saturday at 2:30 p.m. & 7:30 p.m., Sunday at 2:30 p.m. & 7:30 p.m. Tickets are priced at $69 & $49.50 and are available through SmartTix (212) 868-4444, www.smarttix.com, or at the Barrow Street Theatre box office (open at 1 p.m. daily). Student tickets at $20 are available on the day of performance only at the box office.

Barrow Street Theatre is located at 27 Barrow Street at 7th Avenue South in the heart of Greenwich Village. Nearby subway stops are the 1 at Christopher Street (walk 1 block South on 7th Avenue to Barrow) and the A, C, E, B, D, F and M at West 4th (walk West on 4th Street, left on Barrow).

Photo Credit: Peter James Zielinski


To post a comment, you must register and login.