Click Here for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY

7th Annual Clive Barnes Theatre Award Nominees Continue to Shine Bright; Ceremony Set for January

The Clive Barnes Foundation recently announced the nominees for the seventh annual Clive Barnes Awards.

Nominees for the Clive Barnes Award for Dance included Elena D'Amario of Parsons Dance, Sparke Hoxha of New York City Ballet, Andrea Yorita of BalletX, and Indiana Woodward of New York City Ballet, while the nominees for the Clive Barnes Award for Theater included Timothee Chalamet for his performance in Prodigal Son, Juwan Crawley for his performance in Spamilton, Khris Davis for his performance in The Royale, and Nora Shell for her performance in Spamilton.

This year's nominees continue to shine in their respective fields. For example, Timothee Chalamet will co-star opposite Armie Hammer in the upcoming film Call Me By Your Name, directed by Luca Guadagnino. In addition, Khris Davis will be transferring to Broadway in the critically acclaimed Sweat by Lynn Nottage. Lastly, Off-Broadway smash-hit Spamilton, staring nominees Juwan Crawley and Nora Shell, has now extended through the end of March 2017.

One recipient from each category will be chosen and the winners will be announced on Monday, January 9, 2017 at 3pm at The Walter Reade Theatre, Lincoln Center. All finalists will receive a cash prize, with the winners in each category receiving an award of $5,000 furnished by the Clive Barnes Foundation.

This year's Theatre Award will be presented by Academy and Tony-Award-winnerJoel Grey, and Ashley Bouder, Principal Dancer with New York City Ballet, will present the Dance Award. The New York Post's Michael Riedel, also the author of the bestselling book Razzle Dazzle: The Battle for Broadway and co-host of CUNY-TV's Theater Talk, will oversee the Awards as Master of Ceremonies. In addition, 2015 Clive Barnes Award winners, Gabe Stone Shayer of American Ballet Theater and Dave Thomas Brown of The Legend of Georgia McBride, will be speaking at the event.

Past presenters have included Wendy Whelan, Susan Stroman, Frederic Franklin CBE, Cherry Jones, Paloma Hererra, and Nina Arianda. Previous winners are Chase Finlay (2010, Principal with New York City Ballet), Nina Arianda (2010, Venus in Fur, Tony Award-winner), MJ Rodrigues (2011, RENT), Isabella Boylston (2011, Principal with American Ballet Theatre), Rob McClure (2012, Chaplin, Tony Award-nominee), Lauren Lovette (2012, Principal with New York City Ballet), Jonny Orsini (2013, The Nance, Fish in the Dark), Lloyd Mayor (2013, Soloist with Martha Graham Dance Company), Russell Janzen (2014, Soloist with New York City Ballet), Alex Sharp (2014, Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, Tony Award-winner), Gabe Stone Shayer (2015, American Ballet Theater) and Dave Thomas Brown (2015, The Legend of Georgia McBride).

The finalists for the dance and theatre awards are nominated by the Selection Committee, which is comprised of a panel of critics and performers in each field. This year's Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes William H. Ausman, Siobhan Burns, Diana Byer, Frank DiLella, George Dorris, Barbara Hoffman, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, and Valerie Taylor-Barnes.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You