Conductor Mikko Franck Will Step In To Lead Cleveland Orchestra's Concerts

Conductor Mikko Franck Will Step In To Lead Cleveland Orchestra's ConcertsThe Cleveland Orchestra has announced a conductor update for the December 7-9, 2017 performances at Severance Hall. Former Cleveland Orchestra Music Director and Conductor Laureate, Christoph von Dohnányi, upon the advice of his physician, cannot travel at this time and has regretfully cancelled his engagement to lead the Orchestra in Brahms's Symphony No. 1, Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 18 ("Paradis"), and Anderson's Incantesimi. Conductor Mikko Franck has graciously agreed to perform in Mr. Dohnányi's place.

Mikko Franck began his conducting career at the age of 17 and has since conducted around the world. From 2002 to 2007, he was Music Director of the Orchestre National de Belgique. He served as General Music Director and Artistic Director at the Finnish National Opera from 2006 to 2013. Mr. Franck is currently Music Director of Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and Principal Guest Conductor of the Orchestra e del Coro dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome.

Mr. Franck makes his Cleveland Orchestra debut with these performances.

The musical works and guest soloists for the concert remain unchanged.



Severance Hall
Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, December 9 at 8:00 p.m.
The Cleveland Orchestra
Mikko Franck, conductor
Richard Goode, piano

ANDERSON - Incantesimi
MOZART - Piano Concerto No. 18 ("Paradis")

BRAHMS - Symphony No. 1

A work that took on history... and won. With Beethoven's shadow looming over him, expectations wore heavy on Brahms as he wrote his First Symphony. What resulted was a triumph: an incredible, dramatic work filled with lyrical melodies, rich harmonies, and a victorious hymn-like finale. Plus - Mozart's sparkling Piano Concerto No. 18, performed by Richard Goode, who The Washington Post raves that "few can match his unfailingly beautiful tone, effortless technical command, interpretive insight and total emotional commitment."

Free Concert Previews are free to all ticketholders. Previews are held prior to every regular Cleveland Orchestra subscription concert, beginning 1 hour before the performance. This series is funded by a generous endowment gift from Dorothy Humel Hovorka.

Related Articles View More Cleveland Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram