Canton Symphony Orchestra Presents MASTERWORK 3 SEASONINGS, 11/19

It is appropriate that the next MasterWorks concert to be performed by the Canton Symphony Orchestra (CSO) is titled "Seasonings". Not only are we in the midst of the changing seasons, but we are approaching that time of year when kitchens are full of the robust aromas of well-seasoned comfort foods. The concert program on November 19, 2016 at 8:00pm at Umstattd Performing Arts Hall at the Zimmermann Symphony Center may not offer savory tidbits, but it promises to spice up the night with delicious sounds! The concert is sponsored in part by Danbury Senior Living.

First on the program is Vivaldi's The Four Seasons. This recognizable Baroque era piece is a series of four violin concertos each one depicting the sounds of nature and conveying the changing moods of the seasons. Four violinists with a history with the CSO will be the featured soloists.

Solomon Liang will be performing the "Spring" concerto. Solomon is the Principal Second Violinist of the CSO. He has also performed with ProMusica Chamber Orchestra, Alabama Symphony and Schleswig Holstein Festival Orchestra at Salzburg Festival. He earned an Artist Diploma from the Cleveland Institute of Music, a Bachelor of Music from California State University, Long Beach and Masters of Music from Yale School of Music.

Emily Cornelius will perform the "Summer" concerto. Emily regularly plays first violin in the CSO and also serves as Principal Second Violin of the BlueWater Chamber Orchestra and concertmaster of the Cleveland Philharmonic and the Heights Chamber Orchestra. She received her Bachelor of Music from Oberlin Conservatory and her Master of Music from the New England Conservatory. Emily is also a dedicated teacher with a large private studio in Cleveland.

The "Autumn" concerto will be performed by Rachel Sandman, an alumna of the CSO. She is currently a first-year fellow with the New World Symphony, an orchestral academy in Miami Beach designed for young musicians aspiring to professional careers in classical music. She regularly performs with ProMusica Chamber Orchestra (Columbus) and the Breckenridge Music Festival. Rachel holds a Bachelor Degree from Rice University and completed her Master Degree in Violin and Suzuki Pedagogy and an Artist Diploma at the Cleveland Institute of Music.

Current CSO concertmaster, Vivek Jayaraman, will perform the "Winter" concerto. Vivek became concertmaster of the CSO in early 2016 after completing a four-year fellowship with the New World Symphony in Miami Beach. He has made appearances across the United States and Europe at various orchestral festivals and has performed with the New York Philharmonic and Detroit Symphony Orchestra and is a regular member of the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra in Switzerland. He earned a Bachelor Degree from the Eastman School of Music, a Master Degree in Orchestral Performance from the Manhattan School of Music and is currently pursuing an Artist Diploma in Concertmaster Studies at the Cleveland Institute of Music.

The orchestra will finish out the second half of the concert program with Astor Piazzolla's Four Season of Buenos Aires. A contrast to Vivaldi's piece, Piazzolla's work depicts the atmosphere and ambience of Argentina, his homeland.

The CSO will be hosting a pre-concert dinner at the Zimmermann Symphony Center. The doors for the dinner will open at 5:30 November 19 with dinner being served at 6:30. Cost of the dinner is $30 per person. The menu will include Italian and Argentinian inspired selections and a cash bar will be available.

Visitors to the Zimmermann Symphony Center will have the opportunity to view photos of local scenery in the various seasons. The photos are provided by the Stark County Parks District and will be on display in the Hoover Gallery.

Tickets for the Canton Symphony Orchestra concert on November 19, 2016range in price from $28-$48 and are available online at, by phone at 330-452-2094 or in person at the Canton Symphony Orchestra administrative offices in the Zimmermann Symphony Center at 2331 17th Street NW in Canton weekdays 9am-5pm.

Founded in 1937, the Canton Symphony Orchestra is a fully professional ensemble and organization dedicated to performing concerts that enrich, educate and entertain. Under the direction of Gerhardt Zimmermann, the orchestra performs classical, pops, holiday, and educational programs. Most performances are in Umstattd Performing Arts Hall at the Zimmermann Symphony Center 2331 17th Street NW, Canton, Ohio (adjacent to McKinley High School). Parking at the Zimmermann Symphony Center is free. For more information, please visit

Related Articles View More Cleveland Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram