CBS Marks 60 MINUTES Anniversary with Commitment to Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship

The Foundation of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) awarded $10,000 scholarships to each of five college-bound high school students pursuing careers in television, the organization announced today.

The Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship was presented to Nancy Pickett of Goldenrod, Florida, at last week's News and Documentary Emmy® Awards. A narrative documentarian, Nancy shined a light on the impacts of Obamacare through her first-person story of navigating the healthcare system to treat her own chronic illness. She recently premiered her first feature length documentary, profiling pediatric cancer patients, and is now attending Chapman University in Orange, California.

The Wallace scholarship was first awarded in 2013 through a five-year grant from CBS News honoring longtime correspondent Mike Wallace (1918-2012). To mark the 50th anniversary this season of its marquee newsmagazine, 60 Minutes, the network is committing an additional $50,000 to support the program through at least 2022.

"Mike Wallace was one of the iconic journalists that made CBS' 60 MINUTES the dominant newsmagazine program of its time," said Bob Mauro, President & CEO, NATAS. "The CBS News funding of this scholarship in his name is a tribute to his illustrious career and encouragement to the next generation of talented journalists that will be the future of the news industry.

"By investing in the great talents of the future, we reaffirm the standard of creative achievement reflected in the Emmy® and the lasting legacy of two great practitioners of our craft," said NATAS Foundation Vice President Adam Sharp, a 1996 Trustees' Scholarship winner. "The scholarships mark an unbroken line of excellence connecting two generations of broadcasters."

The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its eighth year, honors sportscaster Jim McKay (1921-2008) and was established in 2009 by the HBO, CBS, NBC, ABC/ESPN and FOX networks. It was presented at the Sports Emmys® in May to Victor Prieto of Miami, Florida. Victor's selection represents a second McKay win for Christopher Columbus High School, and he is now pursuing a broadcasting degree at the University of Florida.

This year's other honorees are:

o Alyssa DeVries of San Diego, California
NATAS Trustees Scholarship ($10,000), funded by the NATAS Trustees in recognition of overall potential as a future leader in the television industry

Alyssa aspires to join the cast of Saturday Night Live, and she's well on her way. A talented singer and comedienne, she is now pursuing a comedic arts degree at Emerson College in Boston.

o Natalie Ayala of Chicago, Illinois
Randy Falco Scholarship ($10,000), recognizing the industry contributions of Univision Communications Inc. (UCI) President and CEO Randy Falco.

Natalie impressed the scholarship committee with works exploring the immigrant experience and school diversity. She now attends Pitzer College in California.

o Annelise Odders of Plover, Wisconsin
Douglas Mummert Scholarship ($10,000), reflecting the community focus of NATAS members in 19 chapters by honoring an aspiring broadcaster who has made a positive impact in their community.

Annelise created and supports a local charity to distribute gifts to under-privileged children in her community. Not just a one-time effort at college application time, she established the program in 5th grade and has grown it ever since, touching more than 700 local families. She now attends Tulane University in New Orleans, crediting the scholarship with making the key difference in choosing it over an in-state school.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram