Rose Of The West Release Self-Titled Debut Album Today

Rose Of The West Release Self-Titled Debut Album Today

Rose Of The West's debut album is out today on Communicating Vessels . The band has hometown release show on April 6 at Mad Planet in Milwaukee . Rose Of The West loosely threads dark and brooding strands throughout its newest songs to bind its temperate-but-temperamental style of pop. The result is a beautifully structured, soft-blooming, Technicolor Lynchian dreamscape with just the right amount of sparkle amidst the dark shadows to catch the eye. Are you awake or still sleeping? Are these thoughts your own or are they driven by the characters who populate your dreams?

Driving these hazy dream-currents of music are frosty synths, radiant warmth from guitar and piano, nimble bass lines and a tempestuous, gutsy kick from clear-cut percussion. Rose of the West leader, Gina Barrington, brings it all together with her crystalline-but-sultry vocals, twisting and turning lyrics over like talismans. And no matter how dark, Barrington's most desolate words always seem to hold the possibility of turning those single sparks into bright flames.

Rose Of The West is:

Gina Barrington - vocals, guitar
Thomas Gilbert - guitar, synthesizer
Erin Wolf - keyboards, vocals, harmonium
Cedric LeMoyne - bass
Dave Power - drums

Rose Of The West Track List

1. Love Lies Bleeding

2. Roads

3. Tiny Knives

4. Count The Days

5. Darkest Horse

6. Eye To Eye

7. Exit Madness

8. The First

9. North Carolina

10. Oil & Water

Photo by Nicole Zenoni

Related Articles View More Music Stories

From This Author TV News Desk