Prince Singer Elisa Fiorillo Dease Releases Album 'LIFE IN 20'

Singer Elisa Fiorillo Dease, a member of pop star Prince's New Power Generation, takes center stage on her latest project, "Life in 20," the debut album by her new musical duo The Dease & Reese Project.

A collaboration of Dease and Nashville-based guitarist Tyler Reese, The Dease & Reese Project fuses jazz, funk, R&B and rock to create songs that are musically intricate and lyrically clever.

Written entirely by Dease and Reese, "Life in 20" is comprised of 12 songs exploring life experiences over a span of two decades, sometimes sad, other times humorous, but always thought-provoking.

In "All Over the World," the first single being released to radio, Dease sings of angels protecting us from harm and spreading love. Spiritual without being dogmatic, the song was inspired by a frightening airplane trip with Prince.

"I was on my way to a concert in Europe with Prince when we ran into some pretty bad turbulence," Dease said. "I looked out the window and imagined angels holding the plane up and keeping us safe. That's when I started thinking of the melody and lyrics."

Get a first listen below:

Other songs on the album touch on romance ("Share It With You"), lost love ("How Did it Happen"),procrastination ("Let it In"), food addiction ("Lollypop Ice Cream"), courage ("Little Flower"), self-discovery ("Storybook"), abusive relationships ("What Good is Love"), staying true to yourself ("East Coast Kind of Girl"), encouragement ("It's All Okay") and motherhood ("A Momma Who Knows How to Funk"). The only instrumental track, "Going Home," is an ambient guitar solo by Reese, winner of the National Guitar Workshop competition in 2011.

Dease, who has worked with Prince since 1990, has also recorded many of her own projects dating back to 1987, including the worldwide hit "Who Found Who" with producer John "Jellybean" Benitez and her successful album "I Am," a collaboration between Dease (Fiorillo) and Prince.

Reese, a former Berklee College of Music guitar major, has studied with acclaimed Jazz guitarist Pat Metheny and has opened for Scotty McCreery, Martin Sexton, Ron Holloway and Linwood Taylor. Released by REMU Records, "Life in 20" was produced by Jeff Silverman, rock star Rick Springfield's former lead guitarist, co-writer and co-producer. "Even though you'll hear many different influences in these songs, the common glue is an R&B/soul feel that the three of us have in common," Silverman said. "I feel this is Elisa's best release to date." "LIFE IN 20" by The Dease & Reese Project is available on iTunes, Amazon and CDBaby.

More information is available at

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You