CSO's's 2015 HOLIDAY POPS to Feature More Than 300 Performers

The CSO's Holiday Pops, an annual tradition in Columbus since 1983, was conceived by chorus master and conductor Ronald Jenkins who has also led all of its 96 performances. In 2015, Jenkins, the musicians of the Columbus Symphony, and vocalists of the Columbus Symphony Chorus, will be joined by the Columbus Children's Choir, dancers Justin Gibbs and Joanie Evans, children from BalletMet, narrator Steven Crawford, and of course, Mr. and Mrs. Claus, featuring the talents of more than 300 performers in this heartwarming holiday spectacular. The Sunday matinee concert will be the 100th performance of the CSO's Holiday Pops.

The Columbus Symphony presents Holiday Pops at the Ohio Theatre (39 E. State St.) on Friday, December 4, at 8pm; Saturday, December 5, at 3pm and 8pm; and Sunday, December 6, at 3pm. Tickets are $25-$68 and can be purchased at the CAPA Ticket Center (39 E. State St.), all Ticketmaster outlets, and www.ticketmaster.com. To purchase tickets by phone, please call (614) 469-0939 or (800) 745-3000.

The 2015 Holiday Pops program will open with "A Christmas Overture," a new overture for orchestra by British composer Nigel Hess. Act One will also include Handel's "Sing Unto God" and "Hallelujah, Amen" from Judas Maccabaeus, a new work for the Chorus from Norwegian composer Ola Gjeilo titled "Serenity (O Magnum Mysterium)," and Part 2 of Leonard Bernstein's "Chichester Psalms" currently celebrating the 50th anniversary of its New York premiere in 1965.

After intermission, the audience will be invited to participate in the annual sing-along of traditional carols, and to enjoy the tradition of a child guest conductor chosen from the audience to conduct the orchestra in Leroy Anderson's "Sleigh Ride."

Narrator and chorus member Steven Crawford will be joined by children from BalletMet for a re-enactment of "The Night Before Christmas" supported by the colorful orchestration of Randol Bass.

The second half will also feature CSO trumpeter Tom Battenberg, now celebrating 50 years with the CSO, in a jazzy rendition of "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer," and music by John Williams from the feature film Home Alone 2 - "Somewhere in My Memory" and "Merry Christmas! Merry Christmas!"

Santa and Mrs. Claus will make their 32nd appearance as part of the annual Holiday Pops celebration, closing out the program in grand holiday style. Santa will be available for photos in the lobby after both matinee performances.

Related Articles View More Classical Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram