Long-Lost Manuscript Contains First-Hand Account of the 'Pied Piper of Tucson' Murders of 1964 and 1965

TUCSON, Ariz., March 20, 2018 /PRNewswire/ The recently discovered manuscript, "I, a Squealer," was written by Richard Bruns in 1967. In it, hedocumentshis friendship with Tucson serial killer Charles Howard SchmidJr., the details of getting involved way in over his head, and how he finallyblew the whistle.

Bruns, the former confidant of Schmid, describes the transformation he witnessed in his friend:

In a brief flashback, I recalled the Smitty I used to know, the Smitty that used to be my friend a long time ago. That Smitty had been completely different from the guy sitting across from me now. As I compared the two, I wondered how it was possible he could have degenerated so much.

He writes about being driven to an apartmentwhere he wasquestioned by the Bonanno Crime Family, and about the night that Schmid drove him out into the desert surrounding Tucson to show him the bodies of two of his victims.

Now we stood in silence, as one would stand in silence and appraise irreparable damage...

I wondered if he felt pride over it - standing there showing me his handiwork.

In searing details, Bruns takes the reader into each scene and event as only an insider can, shedding new light on the notorious murders.

During the time of the trials in 1967, Bruns was faced with a barrage of negative publicity due to his close connection with Schmid. The defense attorney for Schmid even tried to point the finger back at Bruns, stating he was the real killer. Bruns documented his firsthand account as a way to share his side of the story and to set the record straight. But once his writing was completed he chose to pack the manuscript away. He was ready to close this chapter of his life.

Now, over fifty years later, his daughters have discovered the manuscript boxed away in the midst of old photos and memorabilia, and have convinced their father to finally share his story.

"These cases will forever be a part of my father's history," says his daughter Lisa. "After all of these years, I'm glad that his side of the story can finally be told."

Bruns' harrowing manuscript has now been published by Twin Feather Publishing. Included in the book are never before published police photos and a 2017 interview with Bruns.Several appendicesupdate the reader on the events that took place after the original writing.

Foreword Reviews and Reader's Favorite both give I, a Squealer 5-Stars!

"Everything about I, a Squealer is unique, from its disturbing theme to the staccato first-person narration. My best advice is to read it with the lights on." -Jeff Guinn, author of the bestselling "Manson"

"A powerful and intimate exploration of one man's moral dilemma." -Diane Fanning, Edgar Award finalist of 14 true crime books

"In the tradition of 'The Stranger Beside Me' and 'My Friend Dahmer' I a Squealer is an intimate remembrance of a friend who turned evil. It dares to expose the human side of a monster and asks, can we have sympathy for the devil?" -James Renner, journalist and author of "True Crime Addict"

For more information visit https://www.iasquealer.com/

I, a Squealer is now availableeverywhere books are sold.

Media Contact: Luanne Furrer (520)339-2985, LFurrer@twinfeatherpublishing.com

I, a Squealer by Richard Bruns. Original edition. 5.5 X 8.5, 155 pages, $17.95. ISBN 978-0-9831665-5-9. LCCN: 2017908999. Available in bookstores and online booksellers March 20,2018. For bulk sales information go to www.twinfeatherpublishing.com.

Related Files

Reader's Favorite 5-Star Review.png

Related Images

i-a-squealer.jpg
I, a Squealer
Firsthand Account of the "Pied Piper of Tucson" murders

original-manuscript.jpg
Original Manuscript
Original manuscript written in 1967 by Richard Bruns

charles-howard-schmid-jr.jpg
Charles Howard Schmid Jr.
Photo taken in 1965 by Arizona Daily Star

charles-howard-schmid-jr.jpg
Charles Howard Schmid Jr.
Photo taken at time of arrest/John Kanman/Tucson Daily Citizen

Related Links

Twin Feather Publishing Website

I, a Squealer Facebook page

Related Video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vb5h2uZk60c



Related Articles View More Books Stories



More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram
   
popup