Click Here for More Articles on AMERICAN IDOL

Prince Music Theatre's Dreamgirls Extends for Extra Week in Jan.

Dreamgirls, presented by the Prince Music Theatre in Philadelphia, has told audiences that it's not going by extending an extra week from January 4th through 15th.

The show, which was originally announced to close on December 31st, features Nova Y. Payton as Effie, Chaunteé Schuler as Deena, CJay Hardy Philip as Lorrell, Alexis Sims as Michelle, Kevyn Morrow as Curtis and Eugene Fleming as James Thunder Early.  Richard M. Parrison Jr. is the director of the musical, while Mercedes Ellington handled the choreography, Todd Edward Ivins the sets and Mark Mariani the costumes.

The Pennsylvania production of Dreamgirls precedes a highly-anticipated film version that begins shooting next month for a December 2006 release.
  "American Idol"'s Jennifer Hudson will play Effie Melody White, the phenomenally talented vocalist who is considered unmarketable as the lead singer of the Supremes-like Motown group The Dreams, and who is dropped in favor of the glamorous Deena Jones (played by pop superstar Beyonce Knowles).  Sharon Leal (Rent, "Guiding Light," "Boston Public") will play Michelle, who replaces Effie in the Dreams. The cast also includes Eddie Murphy as soul superstar James "Thunder" Early, Danny Glover as Early's manager Marty Madison, Academy-Award winner Jamie Foxx as Dreams manager Curtis Taylor Jr., three-time Tony Award-winner Hinton Battle as Wayne, and Tony Award-winner Anika Noni Rose as Lorrell Robinson, the vivacious third member of the Dreams.

Dreamgirls, a co-production between DreamWorks and Paramount Pictures, will be directed by Bill Condon, the Academy Award-winner who received an Oscar nomination for his screenplay for the film version of Chicago. He will also adapt the screenplay from Tom Eyen's book (Eyen also wrote the lyrics to Henry Kreiger's music).

Dreamgirls opened at the Imperial Theatre on December 20th, 1981. A smash hit, it ran for 1521 performances and won 8 of it 15 Tony nominations. The show featured a score by Henry Krieger and Tow Ewen, a book by Ewen, scenic design by Robin Wagner, costume design by Theoni V. Aldredge and lighting design by Tharon Musser. Dazzlingly staged by Michael Bennett, the show nonetheless lost the Best Musical Tony to Nine. Jennifer Holliday, Sheryl Lee Ralph and Loretta Devine were the three Dreams, and Cleavant Derricks, Ben Harney and Obba Babatunde were also featured. Dreamgirls was revived in 1987 with Lillias White, Alisa Gyse and Arnetia Walker. Heather Headley, Audra McDonald and White headlined the 2001 Actors' Fund benefit concert.

For tickets to and more information on the Prince Music Theatre's production of Dreamgirls, visit

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram