Evans, Racey et al. Set for Theatre Museum Gala Honoring Robert & Richard Sherman, 5/17

In tribute to its Career Achievement Award winners Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman, the Theatre Museum's May 17 awards show will feature renditions of some of their most popular compositions performed by an array of top Broadway talent.

"It going to be an evening filled with the songs of one of the greatest composing teams in the history of American music," says Broadway producer Stewart F. Lane, Chairman of the Theatre Museum. "We're thrilled to be able to honor a duo that has contributed so much to the American musical. We look forward to their work being heard on Broadway for many years to come."

The gala will spotlight the brothers' songbook - with selections from "Mary Poppins," "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang," "Over Here" and "Busker Alley." Those scheduled to perform at press time include Jennifer Evans ("Jersey Boys," "Ragtime"), Kevin Cahoon ("Chitty Chitty Bang Bang," "The Wedding Singer") Jessica Grove ("She Loves Me," "Sunday in the Park with George"), Noah Racey ("Curtains," "Never Gonna Dance") and Annika Boras ("Ernest in Love"). Richard M Sherman will take to the piano and lead the event's grand finale himself.

Additional highlights include a silent auction hosted by jeweler Judith Ripka and a theatre tickets raffle.

Inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2005, The Sherman Brothers won Academy Awards in 1965 for Best Musical Score for "Mary Poppins" and Best Music, Original Song for "Chim Chim Cher-ee." During their tenure with Walt Disney, they composed over 200 tunes, including one of the world's most recognizable songs, "It's a Small World (After All)." As pop music composers, the team created such top-ten hits as "You're Sixteen," "Let's Get Together," and "Tall Paul." Disney Theatrical Productions' president and producer Thomas Schumacher is slated to present the Career Achievement Award.

The evening will be hosted by venerable comedy performer Richard Kind, Though know for his countless appearances in such television shows as "Spin City," "Leverage," "Curb Your Enthusiasm," "Scrubs," "Two and a Half Men," "Law & Order: Criminal Intent" and "Psych," Mr. Kind is also no stranger to the stage. His numerous Broadway appearances include "The Producers," "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels," "Sly Fox," and "The Tale of the Allergist's Wife."

Putting the Awards Gala together is Tony, Oscar, Emmy and Drama Desk Award winner Tony  Walton. In addition to his work as a director, for five decades Mr. Walton has been among Broadway's top scenic and costume designers. His 50-plus productions include the original presentations of "Chicago," "Pippin," "A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum," "Streamers," "Golden Boy," "Woman of the Year," "Hurlyburly," "Steel Pier," "I'm Not Rapport" "Seussical," "Well," and "A Tale of Two Cities," He's also lent his talents to the revivals of "Annie Get Your Gun," "1776," "Our Town," "Company," "Uncle Vanya" and ""Anything Goes." Mr. Walton's film credits include his Oscar-winning work for "All That Jazz," as well as "The Wiz," "Equus," "Regarding Henry," "Heartburn" and "Deathtrap."

The Theatre Museum will also honor Samuel French, Inc. with its Theatre Arts Education Award. The Mint Theater Company will be presented the Museum's Theatre History Preservation Award. Specializing in producing worthwhile but neglected stage works from the past, the Mint Theater Company has just been nominated for four 2010 Drama Desk Awards for its production of "So Help Me God!"

The 2010 Theatre Museum Awards for Excellence will take place on Monday May 17, 2010 from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at the New York Players Club. Both honorees and performers will be available before the show for photos and interviews.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride/Retna Ltd.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram