Click Here for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY

American Nobel Laureates to Be Honored at Theodore Roosevelt Park's Nobel Monument, 9/23

American Nobel Laureates will be honored at Theodore Roosevelt Park's Nobel Monument on Monday, September 23, 2013 at 5:30 p.m. at the park (81st Street and Columbus Avenue, Manhattan).

Dr. Robert J. Lefkowitz, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry of 2012, will join NYC Parks Commissioner Veronica M. White, Ambassador of Sweden to the U.S. Björn Lyrvall, and Ambassador of Norway to the U.S. Kåre Aas to unveil five new inscriptions to the nation's only Nobel Monument.

No other country has had as many Nobel Prize recipients as the United States since the awards were first presented in 1901. Since then, 332 Americans have had universal recognition of their achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and for work in peace.

The American Nobel Laureates of 2012, whose name inscriptions will be unveiled on the monument, are:

David J. Wineland, Physics

Robert J. Lefkowitz, Chemistry

Brian K. Kobilka, Chemistry

Alvin E. Roth, Economics

Lloyd S. Shapley, Economics

Dr. Lefkowitz, attending and speaking on behalf of all the honorees, is a native New Yorker and a graduate of Bronx High School of Science, Columbia College and Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.

The Nobel Monument was erected in 2003 in a joint project initiated and overseen by the Consulate General of Sweden and the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation with the purpose of honoring all American Nobel Laureates as well as the founder of the Nobel Prize, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel. It is the only monument in a City park with the names of living persons inscribed.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...