Winners Announced for British Academy Television Craft Awards

Winners Announced for British Academy Television Craft Awards

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced the winners of tonight's British Academy Television Craft Awards, celebrating the very best behind-the-scenes talent in British television of the past year. The ceremony was hosted by Stephen Mangan at The Brewery, City of London for the second year running where presenters included Lennie James, Kara Tointon, Emilia Fox, Arthur Darvill, Patsy Palmer, Victoria Wood and Reece Shearsmith.

Reaffirming the strength and depth of talent working in the British television industry today, a wide range of outstanding television was recognised across the awards with no single programme dominating the ceremony.

Historical gangster epic Peaky Blinders received two BAFTAs, one for Otto Bathurst, winning the award for Director: Fiction, and one for George Steel, winning for Photography & Lighting: Fiction.

An Adventure in Space and Time, based on the early years of Doctor Who, took home the BAFTA for Make Up & Hair Design, while 50th anniversary special Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor won for Special, Visual & Graphic Effects.

Two giants of Saturday night television were triumphant in the face of stiff competition: The X Factor's Phil Heyes won his second BAFTA for Director: Multi-Camera and Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway won the award for Entertainment Craft Team.

BAFTA's Writer awards continue to recognise newcomers and veterans alike, with Dominic Mitchell - named a 'BAFTA Breakthrough Brit' in 2013 - winning the Writer: Drama award for his debut work on In The Flesh and multi-BAFTA winner Graham Linehan taking home the Writer: Comedy award for The IT Crowd, Linehan's second win for the series and the fifth BAFTA of his career.

Two of the year's most popular programmes - Broadchurch and Educating Yorkshire -received BAFTAs for Original Music and Editing: Factual respectively. At next month's Arqiva British Academy Television Awards, the two programmes will be up against four others - Breaking Bad, Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor, Gogglebox and The Great British Bake Off - in competition for the Radio Times Audience Award, the only publicly-voted award at the ceremony. Voting for the Audience Award is now open at .

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber