tv.broadwayworld.com

Click Here for Articles About 60 MINUTES

VIDEO PREVIEW: Judd Apatow on This Week's Edition of 60 MINUTES

Related Links
CBS Wins Fourth Straight Week to Start SeasonCBS Wins Fourth Straight Week to Start Season
October 21, 2014
Sneak Peek - Woman Thrust Into End-of-Life Debate Set for CBS's 60 MINUTES, 10/19Sneak Peek - Woman Thrust Into End-of-Life Debate Set for CBS's 60 MINUTES, 10/19
October 17, 2014
Scoop: 60 MINUTES on CBS - Sunday, October 19, 2014Scoop: 60 MINUTES on CBS - Sunday, October 19, 2014
October 16, 2014
Scoop: 60 MINUTES on CBS - Sunday, October 19, 2014Scoop: 60 MINUTES on CBS - Sunday, October 19, 2014
October 16, 2014
Related: 60 MINUTES, CBS

He's just as nervous as his characters. Comedy filmmaker Judd Apatow sits down with Anderson Cooper for a 60 MINUTES profile and exhibits the same angst he imbues his film's characters with. Cooper's interview with the fidgety filmmaker of hits like "Knocked Up" and "The 40-Year-Old Virgin," will be broadcast on 60 MINUTES, Sunday, Dec. 16 (7:30-8:30 PM, ET/7:00-8:00 PM, PT) on the CBS Television Network. Check out a clip below!

"I had to think about which shirt would look good. I worried that the hair was going to come out from outside my shirt," says Apatow, who is the writer, director and producer of sophomorically humorous hits that are being called a new form of comedy. "I wonder if you could see that I have a gray nostril hair. I've been watching this show my entire life, so this is, like, important to me. I hope I don't screw it up."

Being told he had given more thought to the interview than Cooper only increased his anxiety. "Then I think, 'he doesn't even care, he doesn't even care about me,'" he tells an amused Cooper.

Such private fears have been the basis for much of Apatow's comedic film writing. His first hit film, "The 40-year-Old Virgin," tapped into the adolescent awkwardness of dating, humorously realized in an adult man played by Steve Carell. He says it's a kind of therapy.

"It's almost like a letter to yourself. You're trying to frame your life and understand how you got here and what you should do now," he tells Cooper.

One thing the 45-year-old filmmaker isn't going to do is apologize for what critics say is too much bathroom humor in his movies. "I just find immaturity is funny. I think we all start out pretty immature and then we have to have this moment where we decide...'I'm not going to behave like that anymore,'" says Apatow. "And I don't even know if that's a good thing."

Has he reached that moment of maturity? "Not really," says Apatow.

Cooper and 60 MINUTES cameras visited Apatow and his wife, actress Leslie Mann, and their children, Iris and Maude, in their California home. All three star in his upcoming comedy, "This is 40." Cooper also speaks with two of Apatow's favorite funny men, Seth Rogen and Jason Segel, whom his films have made very popular. Also interviewed is comedian Adam Sandler, who lived with Apatow early in his career, and Will Ferrell, whose signature hit "Anchorman" Apatow helped to produce.

Apatow's dreams of comedy success began growing up in Syosset, N.Y., where he watched comics perform on television and worked at the high school radio station. 60 MINUTES and Apatow take a trip down memory lane by doing an interview in Syosset High School.

VIDEO PREVIEW: Judd Apatow on This Week's Edition of 60 MINUTES


BLOGS
Spoiler Alert! Recap and Review: Night Three of THE VOICE's Battle Rounds 10/20; Full Results!Spoiler Alert! THE VOICE Finally Delivers a Goosebump Inducing Performance! BroadwayWorld's Matt Tamanini Discusses Broadway, TV, Film on THAT'LL PLAY PODCAST
BWW's Matt Tamanini Discusses Theatre, TV, Film on THAT'LL PLAY PODCAST
dotted line
But, Wait! What's On TV Tonight? Tues, Oct. 21st: ABOUT A BOY as Good as Ads? 8:00: THE VOICE | NBC

8:00: The World Series: KC Royals vs SF Giants | Fox

9:30: ABOUT A BOY | NBC

Click for more picks!

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber