SAVAGES Writer Don Winslow Honored with 2012 Raymond Chandler Award

September 27
5:59 2012

SAVAGES Writer Don Winslow Honored with 2012 Raymond Chandler Award

According to, Savages author Don Winslow has been honored with the Raymond Chandler Award, to be presented this December at the Courmayeur Noir Festival 2012.

"I have always been convinced that there is a strong interplay between noir and cinema," Winslow said, "and personally I think that my writing has been heavily influenced by the big screen unconsciously because I grew up with the films, because they have been consciously contaminated by the work of directors like Truffaut, Fellini and Woo. Films like Eight and a Half and La Strada encouraged me to take risks with the creative structure of my novels, especially Savages."

Read the original report here.

Oliver Stone directs the film adaptation of Winslow's Savages, which was voted one of the ten best books of 2010 by The New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, The Los Angeles Times and publications around the world. Winslow's other celebrated novels include The Power of the Dog, The Winter of Frankie Machine, California Fire and Life, Death and Life of Bobby Z, The Kings Of Cool and the Neal Carey and Boone Daniels series.

Past Raymond Chandler Award winners include John le Carre, John Grisham and Michael Connelly.


BWW Review: Hilarious MIKE & DAVE NEED WEDDING DATES Flips Script on Gross-Out ComediesBWW Review: Hilarious MIKE & DAVE Flips Script on Gross-Out Comedies BWW Exclusive: Dame Judi Dench Discusses Shakespeare, Her Passion, CATS, Potential Broadway Return
Exclusive: Judi Dench on Shakespeare, CATS, Potential Broadway Return

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow