Orion Ensemble to Celebrate Chicago Composers Throughout New Season

June 25
1:28 2014
Orion Ensemble to Celebrate Chicago Composers Throughout New Season

The Orion Ensemble, winner of the prestigious Chamber Music America/ASCAP Award for Adventurous Programming, announces its 22nd season: A Taste of Chicago, A World of Romance, spotlighting Chicago composers Jim Gailloreto, Sebastian Huydts, Stacy Garrop and Marc Mellits.

Orion will perform each of its four concert programs at venues spanning the Chicagoland area, including two in downtown Chicago--the PianoForte Studios and Sherwood, the Community Music School at Columbia College Chicago--as well as the First Baptist Church of Geneva and the Music Institute of Chicago's Nichols Concert Hall in Evanston.

The season opens with "Stepping Out," welcoming three guest musicians: bassist Robert Kassinger, a member of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and an avid chamber and jazz musician; pianist Sebastian Huydts, director of keyboard studies at the Music Center of Columbia College Chicago, concert pianist and chamber musician; and violinist/violist Stephen Boe, a sought-after chamber musician who teaches at the Music Institute of Chicago. The program includes Jim Gailloreto's Jazz Trio for Clarinet, Violin and Cello (2014); John Coltrane's "Giant Steps" arranged for Clarinet, Violin, Viola and Cello by Gailloreto (2014); Morton Gould's "Benny's Gig" for Clarinet and String Bass (1962); Dvorak's Selected Slavonic Dances for Piano, Four Hands, Op. 72; and Franz Schubert's "Trout" Quintet in A Major, Op. 114, D. 667. Performances take place September 28 (Geneva), October 1 (Sherwood/Chicago) and October 5 (Evanston).

Orion's second concert program, "Rhapsody," also welcomes guest violinist and violist Stephen Boe. The program features the world premiere of Sebastian Huydts' Trio for Violin, Cello and Piano; Sergei Prokofiev's Sonata for Two Violins, Op. 56; Sergei Rachmaninov's Vocalise for Cello and Piano, Op. 34, No. 14; Iwan Müller's Quartet No. 1 in B-flat Major for Clarinet, Violin, Viola and Cello; and George Enescu's Romanian Rhapsody Op. 11, No. 1, arranged for Orion by Ilya Levinson and Peter Labella. Performances are November 23 (Evanston), November 30 (Geneva) and December 3 (Sherwood/Chicago).


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow

BWW Review: The MAESTRO Returns at 59E59BWW Review: The MAESTRO Returns at 59E59
by Peter Danish