books.broadwayworld.com

SHADOWS: Book II in the Gripping Ashes Trilogy by Ilsa J. Bick Now Available

September 24
9:01 2012
SHADOWS: Book II in the Gripping Ashes Trilogy by Ilsa J. Bick Now Available

In the aftermath of the electromagnetic pulse that swept through the sky in Ashes (Egmont Publishing), the world is a wasteland with all electronic devices destroyed, nuclear reactors decimated, and millions of people dead. Now Ilsa J. Bick brings readers to a more dangerous and unpredictable world for the survivors in SHADOWS, the spine-chilling sequel to the acclaimed novel. Fans of The Hunger Games series or Stephen King's The Stand will be drawn in by the characters' fight to survive long enough to see the dawn break through the darkness.

Ilsa J. Bick brings a unique perspective to her novel of destruction and survival, both as a result of her military service during the first Gulf War and her years as a child and adolescent psychiatrist. She's witnessed the aftermath of war on the mind and worked with people grappling with their private hells. She understands the brutality of which we are all capable.

"When the world ends, people really won't be terribly well-behaved," says Bick about her motivation to write the trilogy. "Being a shrink, I'm particularly interested in the dark side and I know that the biggest unknown, in any disaster, is people: how they change, what they become, the lengths they're willing to go to survive. Part of my interest is probably also influenced by the fact that I'm the daughter of a Holocaust survivor, so that kind of catastrophe—where the world crumbles and people become monsters—is a sort of background music."

Related Links
Mystery Writers of America Announces the 2016 Edgar Award WinnersMystery Writers of America Announces the 2016 Edgar Award Winners
April 29, 2016
MWA Announces the 2016 Edgar Award WinnersMWA Announces the 2016 Edgar Award Winners
April 29, 2016
Tim Allen Releases New Science Fiction NovelTim Allen Releases New Science Fiction Novel
April 29, 2016
BWW Review: JOHN IRVING Grips at 92nd Street YBWW Review: JOHN IRVING Grips at 92nd Street Y
by Matt Hanson - November 18, 2015


About Author

   Subscribe to Author Alerts

BOOKS VIDEOS


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow