Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Kirsty Bushell, Laura Elphinstone & More to Lead RSC'S THE WHITE DEVIL

Full casting is announced for Maria Aberg's production of Webster's violent tragedy The White Devil, which continues the Royal Shakespeare Company's 'Roaring Girls' season in the Swan Theatre, revealing some of the great parts written for and about women.

Maria Aberg returns to the RSC following last year's vibrant summer production of As You Like It and King John as part of the 2012 World Shakespeare Festival. Maria's forthcoming production of Polly Stenham's new play Hotel will shortly open at the National Theatre.

Leading the cast is Kirsty Bushell as 'The White Devil' Vittoria, and Laura Elphinstone as Vittoria's sister Flamineo. Kirsty was last at the RSC with the 2012 productions of Twelfth Night, The Tempest and The Comedy of Errors. Her other credits include The Big Meal (The Ustinov, Bath) directed by former RSC Artistic Director Michael Boyd and Edward II (National Theatre). Laura returns to the RSC having made her debut in Dominic Cooke's 2006 production of The Crucible. Her other theatre credits include Top Girls, A Month in the Country (Chichester Festival Theatre), Pains of Youth and Women of Troy (National Theatre).

The White Devil full cast includes: Joseph Arkley (Ludovico); Peter Bray (Marcello); Elspeth Brodie (Company); Kirsty Bushell (Vittoria); Colin Anthony Brown (Ambassador); Faye Castelow (Isabella); Keir Charles (Camillo); Liz Crowther (Cornelia); Laura Elphinstone (Flamineo); Lizzie Hopley (Hortensio); Joan Iyiola (Zanche); Tony Jayawardena (Ambassador); Michael Moreland (Company); Ken Nwosu (Carlo); Tom Padley (Antonelli); David Rintoul (Cardinal Monticelso); Simon Scardifield (Francisco); Jay Simpson (Gasparo); David Sturzaker (Bracciano) and Harvey Virdi (Matron).

Music for The White Devil is composed by David Maclean and Tommy Grace from the band Django Django. Their self-titled debut album released in January 2012 was nominated for the 2012 Mercury Music Prize. Video design for the production is by Nathan Parker who was the Art Director for the music video for Adele's 'Rolling in the Deep', for which he won the MTV Video Music Award for Best Art Direction.

The production is designed by Naomi Dawson with lighting by James Farncombe, with sound by Tom Gibbons. The Movement director is Ayse Tashkiran and Fight director is Malcolm Ranson.

Related Articles View More UK Regional Stories

NOS Dance

More Hot Stories For You