NYTW's MARY JANE and More Among October's Qualifying Shows for Parity Productions

NYTW's MARY JANE and More Among October's Qualifying Shows for Parity Productions

Theatre Production Company Parity Productions has released its monthly list of Qualifying Productions for October - their popular directory of New York City shows in which the individual creative teams include 50 percent women and transgender artists (directors, designers, and playwrights).

Parity Productions is New York's theatre company that is dedicated to developing and producing new work and committed to hiring a minimum of 50% women and transgender playwrights, directors, and designers on each show they produce. In addition, part of their mission is to provide substantial promotional support to other shows that meet the 50 percent hiring standard in the form of social media, email blasts, PR support, and placement in their Qualifying Productions Directory.

"Last month we had over forty shows notify us that they were Qualifying Productions. We are excited by the outcome of the program and that more production teams are truly paying attention to the gender parity issues," says Artistic Director and Founder Ludovica Villar-Hauser.

To submit your production, go to www.parityproductions.org/submit-your-qualifying-production.html. To purchase tickets to Qualifying Productions, go to www.parityproductions.org/qualifying-productions.html or the individual show website.


October's Qualifying Productions are:

Ace 10/01/17 - 11/05/17 Lyle Courtney Productions Marjorie S. Deane Theatre http://acetheplay.com/

After the Blast 10/07/17 - 11/19/17 LCT3 at Lincoln Center Theatre Claire Tow Theater http://www.lct.org/shows/after-blast/

Am I Dead 10/07/17 - 10/21/17 Flux Theatre Ensemble The Theater at The 14th Street Theatre http://www.fluxtheatre.org/am-i-dead/

Basement 09/28/17 - 10/15/17 Holy Poly Productions The Gene Frankel Theatre http://basement-hagins.brownpapertickets.com/

Cafe Play 10/04/17 - 11/15/17 This Is Not a Theatre Company Cornelia Street Cafe https://www.thisisnotatheatrecompany.com/cafe-play

A Clockwork Orange 09/02/17 - 01/06/17 New World Stages, Stage 4 https://www.aclockworkorangeplay.com/

FIRE 10/12/17 - 10/28/17 Chatillion Stage Company Theatre 54 at Shetler Studios and Theatres http://firetheplay.com/

Frankenstein the Musical 09/29/17 - 11/12/17 Be Bold! Productions Players Theatre http://www.monsteroffbroadway.com/

Fuck Marry Kill 10/27/17 - 11/12/17 Less Than Rent Theatre New Ohio Theatre http://www.lessthanrent.org/fmk

Glassheart 10/19/17 - 10/28/17 Everyday Inferno Theatre Company The Access Theatre http://everydayinferno.com/Glassheart/

Hedda 09/29/17 - 10/25/17 The Bridge Productions Group The Robert Moss Theatre http://www.bridgeproductiongroup.org/hedda.html

The House on Poe Street 10/27/17 - 11/12/17 Yonder Window Theatre Company 14th Street Y Theater http://yonderwindow.co/

Inanimate 08/21/17 - 10/21/17 The Flea in the Siggy http://www.theflea.org/

Let Me Cook For You 10/13/17 - 12/10/17 Theatrelab http://www.theaterlabnyc.com/events/let-me-cook-for-you/

Mary Jane 09/06/17 - 10/15/17 Yale Repertory Theatre New York Theatre Workshop https://www.nytw.org/show/mary-jane/

The Mecca Tales 10/20/17 - 11/04/17 Voyage Theatre Company The Sheen Center https://sheencenter.org/shows/mecca/

Mud 10/05/17 - 10/29/17 Boundless Theatre Company Teatro Circulo http://www.boundlesstheatre.org/

{my lingerie play} 09/27/17 - 10/28/17 Rosalind Productions Inc. Rattlestick Playwrights Theater http://www.rattlestick.org/

Occupied Territories 10/20/17 - 11/05/17 Theater Alliance of Washington D.C. Available Potential Enterprises 59E59 Theaters http://www.59e59.org/

One Night Only 09/19/17 - 10/08/17 Monica Bill Barnes & Company Women's Project Theatre http://wptheater.org/

Only You Can Prevent Wildfires 10/07/17 - 10/28/17 Ricochet Collective Teatro Circulo http://www.ricochetcollective.com/wildfires

Outside Paducah: The Wars at Home 09/26/17 - 10/15/17 Poetic Theater Productions The Wild Project http://www.poetictheater.com/paducah

Petie 09/23/17 - 10/08/17 Theatre East Urban Stages http://theatreeast.org/production/petie/

Pop Punk High 10/12/17 - 11/30/17 Parkside Lounge http://poppunkhigh.brownpapertickets.com/

Power Over POTUS 07/21/17 - 10/17/17 See You Next Tuesday Productions The Laurie Beeckman Theatre at the West Bank Cafe http://www.poweroverpotus.com/

Puffs, or: Seven Increasingly Eventful Years at a Certain School of Magic & Magic 10/13/16 - 07/02/17 (extended) The Elektra Theatre 07/08/17 - 01/14/18 (extended & moved) New World Stages http://www.puffstheplay.com/#tickets

A Raisin in the Sun 06/17/17 - 10/14/17 Harlem Repertory Theatre Tato Laviera Theatre http://www.harlemrepertorytheatre.com/

RED 07/06/16 - 10/29/17 First Person Xperience http://www.firstpersonxperience.com/red

A Ribbon About a Bomb 08/18/17 - 10/01/17 Exquisite Corpse Company Governors Island Colonels Row House 407B https://www.exquisitecorpsecompany.com/aribbonaboutabomb

String of Pearls 09/29/17 - 10/08/17 Theatre 68 The Arthur Seelen Theatre http://theatre68.com/

Stuffed 10/05/17 - 02/18/18 Westside Theatre (Downstairs) http://stuffedplay.com/

Then She Fell 12/2016 - 12/31/17 (extended again) Third Rail Projects The Kingsland Ward at St. Johns http://www.thenshefell.com/

Tomorrow in the Battle 10/11/17 - 10/28/17 Stripped Scripts Ars Nova Theater https://www.strippedscripts.com/

Too Heavy for Your Pocket 09/15/17 - 11/19/17 Roundabout Theatre Company The Black Box Theatre http://www.roundabouttheatre.org/Shows-Events/Too-Heavy-for-Your-Pocket.aspx

Waitress 04/24/16 - TBA Brooks Atkinson Theatre http://waitressthemusical.com/index.php

The Werewolf of Washington Heights 10/11/17 - 10/22/17 Carnival Girls The Kraine Theater http://www.christieperfetti.com/

Whiskey Pants: The Mayor of Williamsburg 09/28/17 - 10/28/17 Mind The Art Entertainment HERE Arts Center http://www.mindtheartentertainment.com/current-production/


To be listed in the Parity Productions Qualifying Productions Directory, each show must meet three criteria: 50 percent of the playwrights, directors, and designers working on the production must be women or transgender artists; shows must be full productions (design elements included) that run for at least two calendar weeks in a New York City venue; and there must be a minimum of six performances over the course of the two week period.

Parity's Qualifying Productions Program is one of their slate of advocacy programs that includes The Annual Parity Commission for Women and Transgender Playwrights, The Women and Transgender Artists Database and The Parity Store - a digital storefront that offers works of art, exclusive products, and professional services - many at a discount - to the industry and audiences. One out of every $10 the company makes from The Parity Store funds The Annual Parity Commission for Women and Transgender Playwrights.


Related Articles

Off-Broadway THEATER Stories | Shows


From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...