York Symphony Orchestra to Highlight Some of Music History's Most Famous Composers with A BAROQUE BEGINNING

The York Symphony Orchestra will present "A Baroque Beginning" on Saturday, Oct. 15 at 7:30 p.m. at the Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center in York. Kicking off the 2016-2017 A Musical Journey Through Time Classical Series, the performance will highlight some of music history's most prolific composers including Bach, Handel and Vivaldi and feature a special performance by guest violinist Odin Rathnam on Vivaldi's iconic composition - The Four Seasons.

"This performance will take our audience on a musical journey through the Baroque period, a time when one of the greatest composers, Antonio Vivaldi, penned one of the most well-known works of all time - The Four Seasons," said Lawrence Golan, music director and conductor of the York Symphony Orchestra. "This musical era is remembered as being extravagantly ornate, and these pieces definitely capture the grandeur and intricacy of the period."

Vivaldi's The Four Seasons is a group of four concertos set around the ideals of harmony and imagination for each of nature's annual seasons. Rathnam, former concertmaster of the Harrisburg Symphony Orchestra, will join the York Symphony Orchestra as guest violinist for the piece.

"We are very excited to welcome Odin Rathnam," said Golan. "He is an extremely talented artist and regional favorite who is critically acclaimed for his national and international performances."

"A Baroque Beginning" will also include Handel's "Entrance of the Queen of Sheba" from Solomon, Gluck's "Dance of the Furies" and "Dance of the Blessed Spirits" from Orfeo ed Euridice, and Bach's Orchestral Suite No. 3, featuring "Air on the G String."

The York Symphony Orchestra will present "A Baroque Beginning" Saturday, Oct. 15 at 7:30 p.m. at the Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center in York. Single tickets starting at $9 for adults and $5 for students are available online atwww.yorksymphony.org and by calling 717-846-1111. A variety of flexible season subscription packages are also available.

About York Symphony Orchestra

Made up of talented professional musicians from the Greater York area and beyond, the York Symphony Orchestra has been engaging audiences with outstanding orchestral music for more than 80 years. Performing at the Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center, the York Symphony Orchestra presents an eclectic mix of classical pieces combined with contemporary arrangements. The 2016-2017 season is sponsored by M&T Bank, the Classical Series is sponsored by W. Dale Brougher Foundation, and the Pops Series is sponsored by PeoplesBank. The York Symphony Orchestra is dedicated to music education, offering programs to engage youth and adults. For more information on the York Symphony Orchestra, visit www.YorkSymphony.org or find us on Facebook.

Related Articles

View More Central Pennsylvania
Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram