Wet Ink Ensemble Celebrates 20th Anniversary With Musical Bash At Roulette Intermedium

Wet Ink Ensemble Celebrates 20th Anniversary With Musical Bash At Roulette Intermedium

On Monday, April 1st, 2019 at 8:00pm, the "sublimely exploratory" (The Chicago Reader) Wet Ink Ensemble, named The New York Times's "Best Ensemble of 2018," celebrates 20 years of adventurous music-making in a concert at Roulette Intermedium.

The anniversary bash celebrates the work of the Wet Ink Ensemble's four acclaimed composer members-Alex Mincek, Sam Pluta, Kate Soper, and Eric Wubbels-and features a retrospective look at "classics" of Wet Ink's repertoire, including Alex Mincek's From Nowhere to Nowhere and Kate Soper's Door, as well as new sounds including Sam Pluta's binary/momentary iii for solo cello featuring Mariel Roberts and the world premiere of a new work for Wet Ink's core septet of composer-performers by Eric Wubbels. Rounding out the program, the ensemble will perform Julien Malaussena's dynamic quintet Concerning Articulated Sound Energy.

Wet Ink Executive Director and violinist Josh Modney says, "We are proud to celebrate Wet Ink's 20th Anniversary with a program that highlights the various facets of our ensemble's mission, from Eric Wubbels's new septet work to Sam Pluta's binary/momentary iii, written for cello phenom and frequent Wet Ink collaborator Mariel Roberts, and a quintet by Julien Malaussena, a strong emerging voice on the contemporary music scene. In addition to these new collaborations, we will revisit two of our favorite works by Alex Mincek and Kate Soper from Wet Ink Ensemble's eponymous 2009 debut release on Carrier Records. We are thrilled to be celebrating this milestone at Roulette, which has long provided a home for our concerts, and look forward to continuing to cultivate Wet Ink's ethos of innovation through collaboration as we enter the ensemble's third decade."

Tickets: $18 in advance, $25 at the door.
Link: http://roulette.org/event/wet-ink-20th-anniversary-bash/

Alex Mincek: From Nowhere To Nowhere, for ensemble
Kate Soper: Door, for voice and ensemble
Sam Pluta: binary/momentary iii for solo cello, for Mariel Roberts
Eric Wubbels: New Work for Wet Ink Septet [World Premiere]
Julien Malaussena: Concerning Articulated Sound Energy, for ensemble

Wet Ink Ensemble
Erin Lesser, flutes
Alex Mincek, saxophone
Ian Antonio, percussion
Eric Wubbels, piano
Josh Modney, violin
Sam Pluta, electronics
Kate Soper, voice
Mariel Roberts, cello

Wet Ink Ensemble Celebrates 20th Anniversary With Musical Bash At Roulette Intermedium

Related Articles View More Cabaret Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram