Tony Award-Winner Harvey Fierstein to Host Broadway Salutes, 9/23

Tony Award-Winner Harvey Fierstein to Host Broadway Salutes, 9/23

The Broadway League and The Coalition of Broadway Unions and Guilds (COBUG) have announced that four-time Tony Award winning playwright and actor Harvey Fierstein will host the sixth annual Broadway Salutes event on Tuesday, September 23rd. This public celebration honors the countless professionals who have made Broadway great. In this industry-wide celebration, theatre professionals will receive special recognition for having worked 25, 35, and 50+ years on Broadway. Directed by Marc Bruni (Beautiful: The Carol King Musical), Broadway Salutes will take place at Anita's Way, the public space next to the Stephen Sondheim Theatre (West 42nd to West 43rd Streets- between Sixth Avenue and Broadway) located in the heart of the theatre district. The event will begin at 3:30PM with red carpet arrivals, and the public ceremony begins at 4:00PM.

Broadway Salutes honors a wide-range of theatre professions - including stagehands, actors, producers, managers, theatre owners, press agents, ushers, agents, make-up artists, dressers, designers, directors, choreographers, musicians, casting agents and more - who have dedicated their careers to the Broadway industry.

Broadway contributes nearly 12 billion dollars to NYC's economy, supports an estimated 87,000 full-time equivalent jobs and generates $500 Million in NYC taxes.

"Not everyone who creates a Broadway show gets to take a bow. In fact the great majority of Broadway's magic makers can be found backstage, or in the box office, the orchestra pit, or in one of the hundreds of offices surrounding Times Square. These wonderful theater professionals, have devoted their lives to the theater. Broadway Salutes is a chance to celebrate their achievements and dedication," said Harvey Fierstein, Broadway Salutes host.

Broadway Salutes brings the theatrical community together to honor individuals for their many years of service to our industry. Every year, we acknowledge the people who work behind the scenes and on stage, recognizing the incredible talent of our dedicated colleagues. It is their hard work that provides countless hours of entertainment to both tourists and New Yorkers, and acts as a significant source of revenue to the New York City economy. We are proud to honor those who make our Broadway community extraordinary." Co-chairs Jessica R. Jenen (League) and Lawrence Paone (COBUG),

The Broadway Salutes committee is comprised of: Peter Attanasio, Jr. (Local 751), Bruce Cohen (Producer), Theresa Couture (Local 802 AFM), Tony DePaulo (IA), Hal Goldberg (Jujamcyn), Jessica R. Jenen (Producer), Nick Kaledin (ATPAM), Jason Laks (The Broadway League), Aaron Lustbader (General Manager), Caitlin McConnell (Local USA 829), Carl Mulert (Local USA 829), Elizabeth Nelson (SDC), John O'Boyle (Producer), Lawrence Paone (Local 751), Laura Penn (SDC), Eva Price (Producer), Paige Price (AEA), Danielle Saks (General Manager), Mark Schweppe (Shubert Organization), Florie Seery (General Manager), John Seid (Local 306), Charlotte St. Martin (The Broadway League), David Turner (General Manager), Patricia White (Local 764), and Barbara Wolkoff (SDC).

The Broadway League, founded in 1930, is the national trade association for the Broadway industry. The League's 700-plus members include theatre owners and operators, producers, presenters, and general managers who present in nearly 200 markets in North America, as well as suppliers of goods and services to the theatre industry. Each year, League members bring Broadway to nearly 30 million people in New York and on tour across the U.S. and Canada. For more information, visit or follow The Broadway League on Twitter @TheBwayLeague or on Facebook at BROADWAY.ORG is the League's new official on-line headquarters for Broadway in NYC and on tour. Download the free mobile app for iOS or Android, and the free IBDB mobile app for iOS or Android. The Broadway League annually presents the Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards, one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry, with The American Theatre Wing.

The members of the Coalition of Broadway Unions and Guilds (COBUG) have labor contracts or work for or with the Broadway League. COBUG was established to strengthen the position of Unions and Guilds within the industry, to participate in decision making that affects Broadway and the art and craft of theatre at large, and to educate the broader community about the collective role Coalition members play in keeping our industry vibrant and healthy.

For more information, log on to:

Related Articles

Cabaret THEATER Stories | Shows

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...