Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

WHAT SO NOT Announces Debut Album Featuring Skrillex, Toto, and More!

WHAT SO NOT Announces Debut Album Featuring Skrillex, Toto, and More!

Australia's What So Not is pleased to announce his long awaited debut album Not All The Beautiful Things -- out March 9th via Counter Records -- featuring frequent collaborator Skrillex, legendary rock lords Toto, plus San Holo and SLUMBERJACK to name only a few. Over three years in the making, Not All the Beautiful Things is about transformation and metamorphosis, a culmination of everything the Australian-born artist has been working towards as he's built his reputation as one of the most innovative producers in the game, garnering over 455 million combined streams in the process. More than an album, it's a fully realized artistic statement in which What So Not is in full control of every aspect, from the stage design and visuals to the music videos and merchandise. "I didn't want to put anything out that doesn't cohesively match the essence of the songs," explains the man behind it all.

What So Not enlisted some friends to help represent the many moods and voices of the project. The 12-track album will include his last single"Be Ok Again" featuring former Silverchair frontman Daniel Johns as well as his brand new single "Stuck In Orbit" which has just dropped today - featuring vocals by BUOY and co-written by Jono Ma (of Jagwar Ma). Listen to "Stuck In Orbit" HERE.

For his debut project, What So Not tapped longtime collaborator Skrillex, and fellow Australian breakout stars SLUMBERJACK along withRome Fortune, San Holo, Dyro and more. Daniel Johns lends his versatile vocals to multiple tracks on the project. Johns praised What So Not saying, "Watching Emoh work is eye opening. A real professional with great vision."

Perhaps most eyebrow-raising of all, the album features a collaboration with rock legends Toto. After years of Emoh dropping their seminal sing-a-long hit "Africa" in his sets, Emoh was able to go into the studio with one of his favorite bands to write their new anthem "We Keep On Running."

Having established himself as one of the world's most revered electronic acts, it's hard to believe that What So Not hasn't yet released an album. The man behind such massive anthems as "High You Are" (50 million-plus streams), "Waiting" (with Skrillex and RL Grime), and his remix of RUFUS du Sol's "Innerbloom" (#30 on Triple J's Hottest 100 list for 2016), has a slew of EPs under his belt, including 2016's widely-praised Divide & Conquer. Last year What So Not released "Be Ok Again," writing and performing the vocals himself for the first time. The song has garnered 2 million collective streamsand was one of the most played songs on Australia's Triple Jthroughout the summer.

Photo Credit: Luke Eblen

Related Articles View More Music Stories

From This Author TV News Desk