Silver Hill Hospital Gala to Honor Neil Sedaka, 11/28

On Wednesday, November 28, 2012, Silver Hill Hospital will hold a festive black-tie gala at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York. Musician Neil Sedaka will be honored for the joy his music has brought to millions. Mr. Sedaka's songs, such as "Breaking Up is Hard to Do" and "Laughter in the Rain," have brought solace as well as hope to millions of lives compromised by mental illness and addiction. Guests will be treated to a special performance by Mr. Sedaka during the evening. The Gala is a fundraiser to provide financial assistance for individuals who need the Silver Hill long-term residential treatment programs but are without adequate resources to cover the costs.

Silver Hill will also recognize two examples of board leadership. Ward F. Cleary, co-chair of the Silver Hill board, and the Cleary family will receive the Founders Award to honor a legacy of family leadership, which has spanned seven decades of the hospital's 81 years. Steve Stillerman, who recently passed away, will be honored IN MEMORIAM with the Visionary Award for his leadership as board chair from 2003 until 2009. Mr. Stillerman's vision and guidance was instrumental in leading the hospital during its recent renovation and return to national stature as a premier psychiatric hospital. 

Board member Michael Cominotto and Dennis Basso are honorary co-chairs of the 2012 Gala. Michael and Dennis personally created the hospital's first gala in 2010 to highlight the excellent treatment the hospital provides and to address their personal desire to raise funds for patients without a financial base to receive residential treatment at Silver Hill.

The Silver Hill Hospital Gala includes dinner, dancing to the Hudson Project, and a live auction.

2012 Silver Hill Hospital Gala
Silver Hill Hospital
Wednesday, November 28, 2012
Cipriani 42nd Street
8:00pm Dinner and dancing
Attire: Black Tie

Honorees: Neil Sedaka, Ward F. Cleary, Founders Award and Steve Stillerman, Visionary Award

Honorary Co-Chairs: Michael Cominotto & Dennis Basso

Board of Directors: Sigurd H. Ackerman, MD (Director, President & Medical Director), Cynthia Ziegler Brighton (Director), Patricia Burrows, LCSW (Director), Richard Canning (Director), Ward F. Cleary (Co-Chair), Michael Cominotto (Director), Sperry A. DeCew, Esq. (Director & Secretary), John L. Engels, Jr. (Director), Frederick S. Feiner, MD (Director), Judith Freedman (Director), Richard Gannon (Director), J. David Haddox, DDS, MD (Director), Theodore Herman (Director), Barry Kerner, MD (Physician-in-Chief) Claudette H. Kunkes, PhD (Director), Paul Lambdin (Director), Ruurd G. Leegstra (Director & Chief Financial Officer), Lance Lundberg (Director), Elizabeth E. Moore (Director & Chief Operating Officer), Deann E. Murphy (Co-Chair), Peter Orthwein (Director & Treasurer)

For more information or to make a reservation, contact the Development Office at (203) 801-2398 or

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram