Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

VIDEO: Al Sharpton Honors Russell Simmons at GLAAD Media Awards


GLAAD Media Award recipients were announced in 25 of this year's 32 media categories at the 22nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards presented nationally by RÖKK Vodka and locally by American Airlines and Prudential at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in New York on Saturday night. Additional awards will be presented in Los Angeles on April 10 at the Westin Bonaventure, and in San Francisco on May 14 at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. In the following clip, media mogel Russell Simmons accepts the Excellence in Media Award at the GLAAD Media Awards in New York.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and the issues that affect their lives. GLAAD Media Award nominees were published, released or broadcast between January 1, 2010 and December 31, 2010.

More information about the upcoming GLAAD Media Awards events in Los Angeles and San Francisco may be found at To receive the latest updates on the GLAAD Media Awards, follow @glaad and use the hashtag #glaadawards.

The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) amplifies the voice of the LGBT community by empowering real people to share their stories, holding the media accountable for the words and images they present, and helping grassroots organizations communicate effectively. By ensuring that the stories of LGBT people are heard through the media, GLAAD promotes understanding, increases acceptance, and advances equality. For more information, visit



Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You