Alice Ripley, Jackie Hoffman and Special Honorees Carole J. Bufford and Marissa Mulder Set to Appear at BWW Cabaret Awards Show at Joe's Pub, 2/23

Alice Ripley, Jackie Hoffman and Special Honorees Carole J. Bufford and Marissa Mulder Set to Appear at BWW Cabaret Awards Show at Joe's Pub, 2/23 The star-studded list of Broadway stars and A-list cabaret performers keeps growing for the 2013 BroadwayWorld New York Cabaret Awards Show, to be staged at Joe's Pub (425 Lafayette Street near Astor Place in Manhattan) on February 23 from 6:30-8:40 pm. Added to a stellar group that includes Ann Hampton Callaway, Liz Callaway, Terri White, Jane Monheit and Jason Robert Brown, are Tony Award Winner (now also a cabaret performer) Alice Ripley (photo left), who will perform representing Sondheim Unplugged at 54 Below, which won the BWW Cabaret Award for Best Variety Show or Recurring Series. Broadway favorite Jackie Hoffman (Hairspray, Xanadu, Adams Family) will appear to perform and accept her BWW Award for Best Musical Comedy Performance for her show at 54 Below.

BroadwayWorld has also announced it will be bestowing four special awards; two going to a couple of cabaret's rising young stars, one awarded to a superb musical director/arranger, and another going to a beloved, long-time staple of the New York cabaret scene. "While all of the winners of the BroadwayWorld Cabaret Awards are extremely deserving of the honor, we realize that because the winners are determined by an online voting process some other very worthy performers might not get the recognition they deserved for that year," explains Stephen Hanks, BWW's lead cabaret columnist and reviewer, who will also host the Awards Show. "These additional 'Special' Awards will be our way of acknowledging their great work." This year's special Awards are going to Marissa Mulder for "Cabaret Performer of the Year," Carole J. Bufford for "Cabaret Vocalist of the Year," Jon Weber for "Excellence in Musicianship," and Don't Tell Mama Manager and Booker and Cabaret Performer Sidney Myer for "Dedication and Devotion to the Art of Cabaret."

Tickets for the February 23 BWW Cabaret Awards Show are $35 and $25 and can be purchased online at:

Patti LuPone--Cabaret Show of the Year, Laura Benanti--Best Female Celebrity Vocalist, and Clint Holmes-- Best Male Celebrity Vocalist cannot appear due to other engagements.

Here is the full list of stars scheduled to celebrate their award by performing at the Joe's Pub show:

Ann Hampton Callaway (Best Tribute Show for Sarah Vaughn: From Sassy to Divine, and Best Duo or Group Show: Sibling Revelry)

Liz Callaway (Best Duo or Group Show: Sibling Revelry)

Terri White (Best One-Show Special Event: Blues to Broadway)

Jane Monheit (Best Female Jazz Vocalist)

Alice Ripley (Performing for Best Variety Show/Recurring Series for Sondheim Unplugged, Phil Geoffrey Bond, Producer)

Jason Robert Brown (Best Original Song for a Cabaret Show: "26 Names")

Lynn Ahrens & Stephen Flaherty with Liz Callaway (Best Revue: 30th Anniversary Celebration)

Jackie Hoffman (Best Musical Comedy Performance, Old Woman, New Material)

Carole J. Bufford (Special BWW Award for Outstanding Cabaret Vocalist of the Year)

Marissa Mulder (Special BWW Award for Cabaret Performer of the Year)

Susie Mosher (Best Host Producer for Variety Show, Recurring Series or Open Mic: Backstage at 54 Below)

Alex Rybeck (Best Musical Director for Sibling Revelry)

Nina Hennessey (Best CD Release: With a Song)

Billie Roe (Performing for Best Director Award Winner Lennie Watts, from Roe's show 1978 NYC Underground: Tribute to Tom Waits)

Sidney Myer (Special BWW Award for Devotion and Dedication to Cabaret)

Pamela Lewis aka Champagne Pam (Best Female Vocalist and performing for Best Director Award Winner Susan Winter from Lewis' show Daddy's Little Girl)

Jonathan Whitton (Best Male Vocalist: Black Sheep Carnival)

Ted Rosenthal (playing piano for Ann Hampton Callaway and representing Best Band/Orchestra Award for Callaway's show Sarah Vaughan--From Sassy to Divine) --END--

Related Articles

From This Author Stephen Hanks

Before you go...