Strange Talk Album Release And Remix Competition Announced

Strange Talk Album Release And Remix Competition Announced

Strange Talk, a Melbourne, Australia based alt-pop four-piece will release their self-produced Wind-up Records debut album Cast Away early 2014. All songs were mixed by Tony Hoffer (M83, Phoenix) with the exception of "Climbing Walls," "Eskimo Boy" and "Is It Real?" which were mixed by Eliot James (Bloc Party, Two Door Cinema Club). Rolling Stone (Australia) recently gave Cast Away a four out of five star review calling it "Equal parts Cut Copy and Daft Punk with pinches of Eighties pop, Strange Talk's album is a fizzy cocktail of synths, breathy vocals and tinny drums." Their debut single, "Climbing Walls" is at radio now.

The buzz has been building since the release of their self-titled 2011 EP (Wind-up released an updated version of this EP June 4, 2013). To celebrate the EP, Strange Talk is using the audio platform SoundCloud to hold a remix competition so fans and remixers can have the opportunity to download the stems from each of the four tracks on the Strange Talk EP - "Cast Away," "Climbing Walls," "Falling in Love" and "Eskimo Boy" remix them, then upload them to a curated page promoting the remix competition powered by the SoundCloud competition app. Remixes can be submitted now until October 1st, 2013 followed by a review process from the band. Strange Talk will select one grand prize winner for each song, while fans will be able to vote from October 3 - October 17, 2013, choosing the song of their choice to determine the runner-up for each song. The winner will be announced on October 22nd, 2013. The prizing is as follows:

One grand prize for each track:
$250.00, remix included on the Strange Talk Remix EP, a feature on the band's website and a one year SoundCloud Pro Unlimited account.

One runner-up for each track:
Feature on the band's website and a one year SoundCloud Pro account.

When Strange Talk released the EP in 2011, they reached the #1 spot on Billboard's Uncharted chart with "Climbing Walls" in the United States; the music video for that song was also part of a hugely successful Cheer laundry detergent campaign "Dig It. Get It" in the United State and Canada which made it the first-ever music video to feature hidden rewards to be found within it. They've played such festivals as Parklife, Stereosonic, Future Music, Soundscape and Falls, opened for Foster The People, the Rapture, Neon Indian and Marina and The Diamonds and wowed New York City at both 2011 and 2012's CMJ Music Marathon. Now Strange Talk will make their U.S. album debut with Cast Away - 12 tracks of indie-meets-electro gems (track listing below). You can get the song "Another Day" for free here and on Strange Talk's website.

Strange Talk is Stephen Docker (vocals, keys), Gerard Sidhu (bass, keys), Travis Constable (drums) and Gillan Gregory (guitar, keys).

Cast Away Track Listing:
1. Cast Away
2. Falling in Love
3. Picking up All the Pieces
4. Another Day
5. So So La La
6. Eskimo Boy
7. Is It Real?
8. Take Me As I Am
9. Climbing Walls
10. Come Back Home
11. Morning Sun
12. Wanted (Dead or Alive)

Strange Talk Official Website