Lick Neon Release 'Be Good to Yourself'

Lick Neon Release 'Be Good to Yourself'

Coming together in 2017, the Lick Neon collective has made an impression in the Boston underground music scene, playing basement shows around the city. Now, Lick Neon is finally pleased to release their debut album Be Good to Yourself. A working mantra for the band, the album's thirteen tracks span the worlds of jazz, rock, and folk, showing off their mastery of their instruments in the most subtle ways possible. Grateful Dead-reminiscent opener "Lick Neon" sets the scene, then seamlessly drifting into debut single "Slip," calling to mind Cat Stevens or José Gonzales, leading the way gracefully on to further expansive tracks.

After racking up some serious streams on their first-ever singles "She Thinks I Don't Care"and "Slip", the Boston-based psych-folk collective takes multiple twists and turns on the album, showing off the band's finesse and clear expertise, making it evident to the listener that this is a group with some serious training in the jazz world.

After their inaugural stint at SXSW this week and album release shows in frontman Nick Leon's hometown of Houston, the band will play one more Texas show in Denton before returning back to Boston. For more details on the SXSW overflow show at Backyard on Bell, click here.

Musicians, artists, and dreamers crossed the Atlantic, Caribbean, Mississippi and Potomac, eventually forming a fully conspired union of harmony in Boston in 2017 with a goal of having a universally good time doing what they love. Performing under the name of Lick Neon, the collective has spent the last year making the rounds on the local underground circuit, bringing old stuff, new stuff, Texas blues, slacker rock, and folk music to the Boston bars and basements.

The root of the music starts with the pen of lead singer Nick, who tends to find his songs on his back porch with his feet up and an acoustic guitar in his hands. The stage is the constant source of Nick's craving, and he plans to live out his life finger-picking that acoustic guitar, playing his songs for friends and fans until the magic of life has to stop.

Lick Neon makes records. The ideas are thorough, but the music is casual. Take the music seriously, but the shows are the last place to be serious. The band will bring the celebration, the catharsis, and everything in between; they just ask that you bring the smiling face and the open mind.

There isn't a right or wrong answer with Lick Neon. Maybe they're a blast from the past, or maybe from an otherworldly planet in the future. Maybe you'll find them tucked away in your dad's vintage record collection, or you'll stumble upon them on Soundcloud. The possibilities are endless and the melodies and emotions are timeless.

Be Good to Yourself Tracklist:

  1. Lick Neon
  2. Slip
  3. She Thinks I Don't Care
  4. Anxious Bones
  5. My Face is Hanging Low
  6. Prison
  7. What
  8. Take My Dreams
  9. The Cold
  10. Floodsong
  11. Peripheral
  12. April
  13. So Long

Related Articles View More Music Stories

From This Author TV News Desk

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram