National Choreographers Initiative Announces Dance Ensemble for 2016 Season

National Choreographers Initiative Announces Dance Ensemble for 2016 Season
Artistic Director, Molly Lynch, is announcing an ensemble of sixteen professional dancers and three apprentices for the National Choreographers Initiative project in July.

The dancers needed for this type of project have special qualities. The schedule is physically quite demanding and the process requires an adventuresome spirit, an open outlook to try new things, and the ability to adapt quickly. Each dancer will be assigned to work with two choreographers throughout the project.
The dancers chosen for the 2016 project are:

Julia Eisen - Nashville Ballet
Julia Feldman - Sacramento Ballet
Erica Felsch - Smuin Ballet
Sabrina Holland - Richmond Ballet
Beth Maslinoff - Eugene Ballet Company
Keenan McLaren - Nashville Ballet
Allynne Noelle - Suzanne Farrell Ballet
Chantelle Pianetta - Menlowe Ballet


AJ Abrams - Freelance
Thomas Baker - Oregon Ballet Theatre
James Cunningham - Cincinnati Ballet
Zachary Guthier - Los Angeles Ballet
Evan Swenson - Freelance
Mate Szentes - Richmond Ballet
Dustin True - Los Angeles Ballet
Benjamin Tucker - Nevada Ballet Threatre

Natalie Matsuura
Skye Schmidt
Tiffany Yamasaki
The 13th annual National Choreographers Initiative will take place this summer from July 11 to July 30. During the three weeks of intense creative effort at the dance studios of University of California, Irvine, four choreographers and sixteen professional dancers will produce new dance works culminating in a public performance at Irvine Barclay Theatre on Saturday, July 30 at 8pm. The evening will include a question and answer session, moderated by Artistic Director, Molly Lynch, giving the audience the opportunity to discuss the production with the four choreographers.

Since its founding in 2004, the National Choreographers Initiative has become an important incubator for creating new dance works and professional development of choreographers. It differs from many other new work projects by imposing no restrictions on the type of work created and allowing the choreographer to keep his/her own work since it is not being commissioned by a company. National Choreographers Initiative has hosted 48 choreographers, 107 dancers from 41 different companies, and has produced 48 new works − 25 of which have been produced by companies throughout the United States.
The four chosen choreographers are: Tom Gold, Nicole Haskins, Stephanie Martinez and Ben Needham-Wood. For more information about the choreographers, go to: