Van Cliburn Competition Gold Medalist Performs in Free Concert with YASO

Van Cliburn Competition Gold Medalist Stanislav Iodenitch, a piano virtuoso hailed for playing with "laserlike clarity" (The Boston Globe), performs Tchaikovsky's iconic Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Young Artists Symphony Orchestra, led by Artistic Director Alexander Treger, in a free concert capping the orchestra's highly successful inaugural season on Sunday, May 1, 2016, 6 pm, at UCLA's Royce Hall. The all-Russian program also includes Tchaikovsky's enthralling Suite from Swan Lake and Lyadov's Kikimora, a tone poem about a malicious spirit from Russian folklore. Additionally, to celebrate the conclusion of its first season, YASO is hosting a separate ticketed post-concert soiree, featuring a buffet dinner and jazz performances by Nigel Armstrong, former concertmaster under Treger, Julian Zheng, YASO principal horn, and other YASO artists.

"Stanislav Iodenitch is a remarkable artist," says Treger. "We are thrilled to present him as a guest soloist with the Young Artists Symphony Orchestra to close our first season. To see one of the world's leading pianists perform one of his signature works live in a free concert is a rare opportunity. We encourage people of all ages to attend since it promises to be a very special musical evening."

Ioudenitch is widely regarded for his strong individuality and musical conviction. He won the Gold Medal at the 11th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, where he also took home the Steven De Groote Memorial Award for Best Performance of Chamber Music. Born in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, Ioudenitch has also netted prizes at the Busoni, Kapell, Maria Callas and New Orleans competitions, among others. A former student of Dmitri Bashkirov, he also studied with Leon Fleisher, Murray Perahia, Karl Ulrich Schnabel, William Grant Naboré and Rosalyn Tureck at the International Piano Foundation in Como, Italy, the current International Piano Academy Lake Como. He subsequently became the youngest teacher ever invited to give master classes at the academy. Ioudenitch has collaborated with James Conlon, James DePreist, Günther Herbig, Asher Fisch, Stefan Sanderling, Michael Stern, Carl St. Clair and Justus Franz, and with such orchestras as the Munich Philharmonic, the National Symphony, the Rochester Philharmonic, the Honolulu Symphony and the National Philharmonic of Russia. He has also performed with the Takács, Prazák, Borromeo and Accorda quartets and is a founding member of the Park Piano Trio. He has appeared at Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center and the Forbidden City Concert Hall in Beijing and the Aspen Music Festival, among other venues and festivals. Ioudenitch's recordings include Stanislav Ioudenitch, Gold Medalist, 11th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition for Harmonia Mundi and Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka produced by Thomas Frost. He also appeared in Playing on the Edge, Peter Rosen's Peabody Award-winning PBS documentary about the 2001 Van Cliburn Competition and in the PBS Concerto series. In addition to Lake Como, he has led masterclasses at the Cliburn-TCU Piano Institute in Fort Worth, Stanford University, Cornell University, the National University in Seoul and Miami's International Institute for Young Musicians.

Treger, former concertmaster of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, is "an icon of the Los Angeles musical scene" (LA Opus) whose conducting has been described as "vivid" (The New York Times), "uplifting" (Musical America) and "expertly finessed" (Examiner). He has guest-conducted the Turku Philharmonic in Finland and stepped in at the last minute to conduct the Los Angeles Philharmonic, replacing the indisposed Franz Welser-Möst. He has also appeared as guest conductor with the Santa Barbara Chamber Orchestra, the New World Symphony, the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra and the Russian State Academic Symphony Orchestra. As a soloist, he has performed with the San Francisco, Denver, Dallas and Houston symphonies, among many others. An avid chamber performer, Treger has collaborated with such well-known artists as Radu Lupu, Yefim Bronfman, André Previn, Bernard Greenhouse and Emanuel Ax. In addition to serving as YASO Artistic Director, the noted violinist, accomplished conductor and gifted educator also serves as the Music Director/Conductor of the Crossroads Chamber Orchestra.

YASO, hailed as a "glorious" (Out West Arts) "musical force to be reckoned with" (LA Opus), champions, mentors and inspires the next generation of outstanding young musicians for careers in classical music. The orchestra, comprised of dedicated young artists ages 15 to 26 drawn from a variety of schools and conservatories around the Southland, adheres to the high standards and protocols of professional orchestras, providing the orchestra members with the same type of experiences they will encounter as professional artists. YASO members, who receive a stipend for their services, are selected through a rigorous audition process. They perform key works that are an essential part of the core orchestral repertoire and are held to extremely high standards since many of the members will be auditioning directly into professional ensembles. During its inaugural 2015-16 season, YASO presents its final free concert of the season at Royce Hall on Sunday, May 1, 2016.

Admission to the concert is free, but reservations are recommended. Tickets to the post-concert soiree and dinner are $125. Reservations for both can be made at or (310) 905-3496. Concert tickets are also available at the door the night of the concert on a space available basis.

Related Articles View More Classical Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram