Click Here for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY

BWW CABARET AWARDS SHOW UPDATE: Monheit to Join Vereen, Maye, Stritch, Sullivan and Caruso at Metropolitan Room, 2/21

Acclaimed jazz recording star Jane Monheit is the latest 2012 Cabaret Award winner to join a star-studded performing lineup featuring fellow winners Ben Vereen and Marilyn Maye, composer Jason Robert Brown, as well as cabaret stars Billy Stritch, KT Sullivan, Karen Kohler, Jim Caruso, and Colleen McHugh. All of these great entertainers and many other Award-winners will appear at the first-ever New York Cabaret Awards show at the Metropolitan Room on Thursday, February 21 (6:30-9 pm). These entertainers and many others became award-winners after almost two months of voting and the casting of an astounding 10,000 votes over 20 categories on the Cabaret section of the website.

The 2012 New York Cabaret Awards Show will be hosted by's lead Cabaret Reviewer/Columnist Stephen Hanks, while the show's Musical Director will be MAC Award-winning MD and composer Bill Zeffiro, who this year was a Award nominee for his original song "My Kind of Guy" (written for "Best Female Vocalist" nominee Marissa Mulder's show Illusions).

To make your reservations for what promises to be a fantastic and memorable evening, go to:

Vereen (right) was awarded "Best Male Celebrity Vocalist" for his 54 Below show Steppin' Out. Maye won for "Best Performance by a Duo/Group" for her show with Michael Feinstein, Swingin' The Night Away at Feinstein's, but Maye (photo next page) will be performing at the Awards show with Billy Stritch, who won as "Best Musical Director" for his show with Maye at the Metropolitan Room, By Request. Musical Theater composer Brown won the Award as "Best Singer/Songwriter Show--Original Material" for his run at 54 Below. Jane Monheit was the runaway winner for the Award as "Best Jazz Vocalist: Male or Female," while KT Sullivan and Karen Kohler took "Best Cabaret Show Revue" honors for their show at The Triad, Vienna to Weimar. Caruso and McHugh each won two Awards; Caruso as "Best Host of Variety Show/Recurring Series or Open Mic" for Cast Party at Birdland, while Cast Party, for which Caruso is the Producer, also won an Award for "Best Variety Show/Recurring Series/Open Mic." McHugh took the Awards as "Best Female Vocalist" mainly for her Calendar Girl shows at The Duplex, and for "Best CD Release (Solo, Duo or Group)" for her disc Pret-A-Porter, based on the Cole Porter tribute show she performed at Birdland last year. New York Cabaret Award winners who will also perform at the show at the Metropolitan Room include: William Blake, "Best Male Vocalist" for his show Echoes of Etta: Tribute to Etta James at Birdland; Scott Evan Davis, who won "Best Original Song for a Cabaret Show" for the song "If We Say Goodbye" from his Don't Tell Mama show Cautiously Optimistic; Alison Nusbaum, the "Best Musical Comedy Performance" winner for her show Ladies! A Raucous Homage to Mel Brooks Broads at Don't Tell Mama; Stacie Perlman, who was voted as producing the "Best Female Debut Show" for The Story Underneath at the Metropolitan Room, the clarinet and saxophone playing Will Anderson, who won "Best Instrumentalist (Non Piano)" honors, mainly for his work in Carole J. Bufford's show speak easy. at the Metropolitan Room; and Jackie Kristel, who will be representing "Best Director" Award-winner Collette Black, who guided Kristel's debut show "A Girl You Should Know," at Don't Tell Mama.

Besides Michael Feinstein, other major Award winners who cannot appear at the show due to other performing commitments that night include: Ann Hampton Callaway, who copped two major Awards-"Cabaret Show of the Year (Male or Female)" and "Best Tribute Show (Male or Female)" for The Streisand Songbook at 54 Below; Betty Buckley, who took "Best Female Celebrity Vocalist" for her show The Other Woman at Feinstein's; and Steve Doyle, the popular bass player who won the Award for "Best Male Debut Show" for Home to You at 54 Below.

Again, for show reservations, go to:

Related Articles

From This Author Stephen Hanks