Vermont Symphony Orchestra Adds New Members to Board of Directors

BERLIN, VT-At its September 2015 board meeting in the offices of Blue Cross/Blue Shield, the Vermont Symphony Orchestra Governing Board of Directors approved their new officers and elected new board members. The four three-year term members new to the board are Jim Girardin of Burlington, Cathy Stadecker of Burlington, Dirk Elston of St. Johnsbury and Betsy Bloomer of Rutland. "The level of experience and commitment these newly elected board members bring to the Vermont Symphony Orchestra is truly gratifying," noted Board chair Victoria Young. "The breadth of talent will insure that the strategic and artistic directions created will continue taking the VSO in the right direction." Officers elected were Victoria Young, Chair; Barbara Wessel, Vice-chair; Ginny Roth, secretary and Perez Ehrich, treasurer.

Gov. Madeleine Kunin and Andrea Forrest Brock retired from the board after six years of service. "We are truly appreciative of the service of Madeleine and Andrea during these past years," remarked Board chair Victoria Young. "They have brought not only an appreciation for the art form but insight into the financial and operational aspects of the organization. We thank them truly."

The Vermont Symphony Orchestra is the only professional statewide orchestra providing live musical experiences for listeners in Vermont. It is a state-supported non-profit institution founded in 1935 and exists for the purpose of fostering and encouraging the appreciation of music in all its various forms, with emphasis on orchestral, choral and chamber music.

Related Articles View More Classical Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram