Photo Flash: Jason Tramm Conducts Faure's Requiem In Morris Choral Society's 45th Season Finale

With "Rebirth and Renewal: A Celebration of Spring" the Morris Choral Society concluded its 45th Anniversary Concert Season to rousing applause Saturday May 12th at the historic Methodist Church on the Green in Morristown, New Jersey.

Noted American conductor and MCS Music Director Jason Tramm led an inspired concert program exploring themes of rebirth in works by 20th century French composer Gabriel Faure and contemporary masters Dan Forrest, Ola Gjeilo, Morten Lauridsen and Gwyneth Walker as well as selections by renown 20th century American composers Samuel Barber and Randall Thompson.

Fittingly the MCS Spring Concert took place at the very location where 45 years ago a fire shuttered the historic church and its services for two years, providing the impetus for the formation of the Morris Choral Society through the leadership of bass soloist R. Wayne Walters.

The concert which took place on the birthday of Gabriel Faure, opened with Faure's masterwork "Requiem in d minor, Op. 48" and featured distinguished operatic and concert artists mezzo soprano Maya Hoover, baritone Jonathan Scott and organist (and MCS accompanist) Michael Shane Wittenburg in Faure's sublime music written expressly for two solo voices, chorus, organ, and orchestra.

The second half of the concert featured the Morris Choral Society in Ola Gjeilo's "Across the Vast Eternal Sky", Dan Forrest's "Abide", Gwyneth Walker's "I will be Earth" and Samuel Barber's "Sure on this Shining Night." Featured guest ensemble Clarum Sonum under the direction of Rider Foster performed Morten Lauridsen's "Lux Aeternum." 20th century American master Randall Thompson's selections from "Frostiana" were performed by the ever-popular sextet Express Male.

The concert concluded with the traditional spiritual arranged by Paul Caldwell and Sean Ivory - "Ain't No Grave Can Hold My Body Down" which brought down the house.

Photos Courtesey Of Vince Marchese And United Methodist Church, Morristown Green

high res photos

Jason Tramm Conducts The MCS And MAO Chamber Ensemble With Featured Soloists In Faure Requiem

Morris Choral Society, Baritone Soloist Jonathan Scott, Organist Michael Shane Wittenburg

Featured Guests Clarum Sonum Under The Direction Of Rider Foster

Faure Requeiem Vocal Soloists Jonathan Scott, Baritone And Maya Hoover Mezzo-Soprano

Express Male Sextet

MCS Music Director Jason Tramm