SHARP SHORT DANCE 2016 - Award Winners

SHARP SHORT DANCE 2016 - Award Winners

Wrapping up its annual showcase of the dance industry's rising stars, Sharp Short Dance, a dance festival presented by FORM Dance Projects at Riverside Theatres, announced its' 2016 award winners on Saturday 19th November 2016.

Sharp Short Dance is an annual celebration of talented young dancers and choreographers under the age of 21. This year, 45 choreographers and 114 dancers took part in the Festival, performing short, new and innovative dance works. From 40 dances, 17 were selected to continue to the final and were judged by a panel of industry professionals.

Coordinator of Sharp Short Dance, Carl Sciberras, said, "The young artists who presented works in this year's festival were some of the most impressive I've seen. Sharp Short Dance is such a special event in FORM's program and in the dance calendar in Sydney; all the judges expressed their excitement at the uniqueness of the festival which gave young people a chance not only to perform, but to develop and present an idea in a professional setting, to connect with other like-minded creatives and really feel part of the dance industry."

A highlight of this year's festival was a light and playful contemporary dance duet from 21 year-old, Sophie Carter. Carter, who won Most Innovative Choreography said, "Sharp Short Dance provided me with the perfect platform to explore and expand my choreographic endeavours. The diverse and always supportive nature of the event is something I truly admire."

2016 Sharp Short Dance award winners:

Most Innovative Choreography - Sophie Carter for her duet Jewellery Box

Outstanding Male Dancer - Benjamin Wilson

Outstanding Female Dancer - Hannah Reimer

Outstanding Solo Performance - Naomi Lum

Outstanding Duet Performance - Jazlyn Richards and Brett Hartnett

Outstanding Ensemble Performance - Down the Rabbit Hole, choreographed by Emily Perry

Sydney Dance Company, Pre Professional Program Secondment - Pia Hagberg

Bangarra Dance Theatre Secondment - Jordan Hodges

Phly Crew Secondment - Nicco Olegario

Dream Dance Company Secondment - Emily Perry

Flatline Secondments - Naomi Lum and Benjamin Wilson

Audience Choice Award - The Waiting Game, choreographed by Alyssa Milanovic

Related Articles View More Dance Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram