St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble to Perform in East Hampton, 8/10

St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble returns for a second summer to Guild Hall for a concert of Baroque and Classical favorites on Sunday, August 10. Works by Vivaldi, Bach, and Mozart will make for a delightful summer evening performance in the beautiful town of East Hampton.

A set of four violin concertos, The Four Seasons is one of the most popular and evocative pieces in the canon. Vivaldi uses instrumental effects to masterfully convey seasonal elements, from silvery pizzicato notes that suggest icy rain in "Winter" to rapid scale passages that call to mind a wild thunderstorm in "Summer." Violinist Krista Bennion Feeney-praised by The New York Times for her "tender exuberance in both tumbles of notes and sustained phrases"-will be soloist in this masterwork.

With its brilliant Italianate harmonies, Bach's vibrant Orchestral Suite No. 2 is clearly influenced by Vivaldi. Like most of his lighter music, the Orchestral Suite No. 2 was not published during his lifetime, but is nevertheless a festive and majestic example of the spirit of the late Baroque. Elizabeth Mann, St. Luke's longtime principal flutist, will be featured in this lively collection of dances.

To showcase music from the Classical era, the program opens with Mozart's Divertimento in D Major for strings. Literally translated as "a piece for enjoyment," the three-movement Divertimento alternates stunning virtuosity with graceful, eloquent lines. Having recently returned from a trip to Italy, the teenaged Mozart incorporated Italian gestures into this piece, showing his ever-evolving and maturing musical language.

St. Luke's at Guild Hall
Sunday, August 10, 2014 at 8:00 PM
John Drew Theater

Krista Bennion Feeney, solo violin|
Elizabeth Mann, solo flute
Mitsuru Tsubota, violin
Karl Kawahara, violin
Louise Schulman, viola
Daire Fitzgerald, cello
John Feeney, bass
Robert Wolinsky, harpsichord

MOZART Divertimento in D Major, K. 136
BACH Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067
VIVALDI The Four Seasons, Op. 8 Nos. 1-4

Tickets $23 - $75. To purchase, visit or call 631.324.4050.

Related Articles View More Classical Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram