Single Tickets for the Oakland East Bay Symphony's 2014-2015 Season to Go On Sale 10/1

Single Tickets for the Oakland East Bay Symphony's 2014-2015 Season to Go On Sale 10/1

Single tickets will go on sale October 1 for individual concerts of the Oakland East Bay Symphony's 2014-2015 season. The six-concert, 26th season-Music Director and Conductor Michael Morgan's 25th with the Orchestra-- will feature the world premiere of a new work for violin and orchestra by Grammy Award-winning composer/violinist Mads Tolling, the West Coast premiere of Chris Brubeck and Guillaume Saint-James' Brothers in Arts for jazz quintet and orchestra, a semi-staged performance ofLeonard Bernstein's Candide, pianists Llewellyn Sanchez-Werner and Richard Glazier, Notes from Mexico, a holiday tribute to Pete Seeger and more. A pre-concert talk will begin one hour before each performance, and the 2014-2015 season at the Paramount Theatre runs November 7, 2014 through May 15, 2015. Sponsors of the 2014-15 season include Bell Investment Advisors, Mueller Nicholls Builders and Chevron. For details, information and tickets, visit .


All Performances at the Paramount Theatre, 2025 Broadway, Oakland, CA

Friday, November 7, 2014 at 8 pm

Michael Morgan, Conductor
Chris Brubeck, Composer/Trombone
Guillaume Saint-James, Composer/Saxophones
Didier Ithurssary, Accordion
Christophe Lavergne,Drums

Jerome Seguin, Bass

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64
Brubeck/Saint-James: Brothers in Arts (West Coast Premiere) for Orchestra with jazz quintet

Composer/performer and son of the legendary music innovator and Bay Area treasure Dave Brubeck, Chris Brubeck returns to Oakland East Bay Symphony with collaborator Guillaume Saint-James and members of his jazz quintet for the West Coast premiere of Brothers in Arms. The work, subtitled "An Homage to Our Fathers" pays tribute to the composer's fathers who were in France in 1944 during World War II. Chris' father served in Patton's army and Saint-James's was a teenager who would become a doctor and jazz amateur. Chris and Guillaume met when they shared a concert stage in Rennes, France, and discovered their fathers trod the same earth during one of Europe's-and the world's-most trying and triumphant eras. As such, Brothersbrings together two generations and two continents. Audiences will remember Chris Brubeck and friends from their moving and inspiring Dave Brubeck tribute with Oakland East Bay Symphony in 2013. Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony completes the program.

Sunday, December 14, at 4 pm

Let Us Break Bread Together: A Holiday Tribute to Pete Seeger

Michael Morgan, Conductor

Oakland East Bay Symphony, Maestro Morgan and guests ring in the holidays with the 22nd annual edition of what has been hailed as a popular and delightfully out-of-the-box seasonal tradition. This year will feature a musical tribute to Pete Seeger with Linda Tillery, Oakland Symphony Chorus, Mt. Eden High School Chorus,Piedmont East Bay Children's Choir, Oakland Interfaith Gospel Choir and other guest artists to be announced.

Friday, January 23, 2015 at 8 pm

Michael Morgan, Conducting
Richard Glazier, Piano

Gershwin: Concerto in F
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 8 in C minor, Op. 65

Pianist, Gershwin specialist and raconteur Richard Glazier will perform the jazz-inspired, technical tour-de-force Concerto in F on a program paired with Shostakovich's masterful Eighth Symphony. In addition to an active schedule as a recitalist and soloists, Richard Glazier's concerts have inspired two national television specials: From Gershwin to Garland - A Musical Journey With Richard Glazier and From Ragtime to Reel Time - Richard Glazier in Concert, both of which aired nationally on PBS.

Friday, February 20, at 8 pm

Michael Morgan and Bryan Nies, Conductors
Mads Tolling, Composer/violin
Oakland Symphony Chorus, Lynne Morrow, Music Director

Barber: Symphony No. 1, Bryan Nies, Conductor

Mads Tolling: New work for Jazz Violin and Orchestra (World Premiere)

Haydn: Mass in Time of War

Double Grammy Award-winning composer/violinist and former Turtle Island String Quartet member Mads Tolling makes his Oakland East Bay Symphony debut creating and performing a world premiere work, supported by The James Irvine Foundation's New Visions/New Vistas program. Assistant Conductor Bryan Nies will take the podium for a performance of Samuel Barber's powerful and haunting First Symphony and the Oakland Symphony Chorus will perform Haydn's Mass in Time of War.

Friday, March 27, at 8 pm

Notes from Mexico

Michael Morgan, Conductor
Llewellyn Sanchez-Werner, Piano
Diana Gamerors, Guitar and vocals

Carlos Chavez: Piano Concerto
Jose Pablo Moncayo: Huapango
Silvestre Revueltas: Sensemaya
Diana Gameros: En Juarez plus Hay Unos Ojos and a medley of traditional Mexican folksongs arranged by Ms. Gameros

This season's edition of the popular and revelatory Notes from . . . series features contemporary and 20thcentury masterworks by Mexican composers. Gilmore Young Artist Award-winning pianist Llewellyn Sanchez-Werner -a phenomenon still in his late teens-will make his Oakland East Bay Symphony debut Carlos Chavez' dramatic concerto. Diana Gameros is a singer, songwriter and activist originally from Ciudad Juarez who now makes the Bay Area her home. She creates authentic, inspiring music that reflects the 21st century experiences of a young indie artist at the borderlands between cultures, languages and genres. Rounding out the program will be guest dancers to be announced.

Friday, May 15, at 8 pm

Leonard Bernstein's Candide

Michael Morgan, Conductor
Thomas Glenn, Tenor

Shawnette Sulker, Soprano

Robert Sims,Baritone

Tami Dahbura, Mezzo-soprano

Oakland Symphony Chorus, Lynne Morrow, Music Director

Michael Morgan and the Oakland East Bay Symphony return to their acclaimed exploration of great symphonic works from the American musical theater tradition with a concert performance of Bernstein's comic operaCandide, featuring the return of audience-favorite soloists.

Subscriptions and Tickets

Season subscription tickets are priced from $75 to $315. To order series tickets, call Oakland East Bay Symphony at 510-444-0801 or visit Single tickets for individual subscription concerts are priced from $20 to $75 and go on sale October 1. For complete information about Oakland East Bay Symphony, please visit