Guitar Plus Presents SONIC STORIES AT Symphony Space, 9/12

On Friday, September 12, 7:30 pm at Symphony Space, Guitar Plus presents "Sonic Stories", an engaging concert program with four pieces that each tell a story:

Osvaldo Golijov's Fish Tale for flute and guitar tells of a surrealistic journey of a fish through time, from ocean to fishbowl to brook to the bottom of the sea. Romeo and Juliet for flute and guitar by Ned Rorem evokes nine passages from Shakespeare's tragic love story. The chronicle of the history of the tango unfolds in Histoire du Tango for violin and guitar by Astor Piazzolla, from its bawdy beginnings in the brothels of Argentina to the concert halls of today. Finally, the beloved Overture to La Gazza Ladra by Gioachino Rossini, arranged by his contemporary, Ferdinando Carulli, for flute, violin and guitar, previews the plot of the opera in which a servant is falsely accused of stealing a silver spoon from her master and is saved at the last moment from a punishment of death when it is discovered that the culprit was, in fact, the "thieving magpie".

Flutist Tara Helen O'Connor and violinist Philippe Quint join guitarist David Leisner for this Guitar Plus program. O'Connor is one of the busiest and best flutists in the American chamber music world, Quint is much in demand on the international concerto circuit and as Piazzolla specialist with his Quint Quintet, and Leisner is one of the leading guitarists of his generation.

WHERE: Leonard Nimoy Thalia at Symphony Space

WHEN: Friday, September 12th at 7:30 p.m.

TICKETING INFORMATION: $20 general admission in advance, students and seniors $10, day of show $25.

Related Articles View More Classical Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You


Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram