Princeton Symphony Orchestra Viennese Reflections Concert Features Violinist Leila Josefowicz

Resuming its usual time slot on Sunday, October 9 at 4 pm, the Princeton Symphony Orchestra (PSO) presents Viennese Reflections Edward T. Cone Concert spotlighting one of the most important violinists of our time-Leila Josefowicz. Ms. Josefowicz performsAlban Berg's Violin Concerto "To the Memory of an Angel" with the orchestra under the direction of Rossen Milanov. Bookending the concerto is the world premiere of JulIan Grant's PSO-commissioned work Is it enough? Perhaps it is... and Franz Schubert's Symphony No. 9 in C Major, D. 944 "Great." The concert takes place at Richardson Auditorium on Princeton University campus.

Alban Berg wrote his violin concerto as a memorial to Alma Mahler Gropius and Walter Gropius' 18-year-old daughter Manon. The poignant work makes use of the Bach chorale Es ist genug (It is enough) which is also the foundation for JulIan Grant's work Is it enough? Perhaps it is..., specifically commissioned by the PSO as a companion and prelude to the Berg concerto. Schubert's Ninth Symphony completes the evening on a grandiose scale, with a brief nod to Beethoven's "Ode to Joy" in the final movement.

Leila Josefowicz's performance style is encapsulated by The New York Times review "As ever, the soloist astonished." She frequently collaborates with leading composers and works with orchestras and conductors at the highest level around the world. Highlights of Leila's 2016/17 season include engagements with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich, Royal Flemish Philharmonic, Helsinki Philharmonic, and the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony orchestras.

JulIan Grant is a Princeton-based composer, writer, educator, music journalist, and broadcaster. He has composed eighteen operas for many companies including English National Opera and The Royal Opera. From 2002-2007, he was director of music at St. Paul's Girls' School, London, a post previously occupied by composers Gustav Holst and Ralph Vaughan Williams. His new opera The Nefarious, Immoral, but Highly Profitable Enterprise of Messrs. Burke & Hare premieres at Boston Lyric Opera in 2017.

The October 9 concert is made possible by the generous support of the Edward T. Cone Foundation. Edward T. Cone enjoyed a distinguished career as a composer, pianist, author, and professor of music at Princeton University. He produced several scholarly books, many of them classics in their field. The PSO performed his Symphony last fall.

Tickets for Viennese Reflections and other PSO Classical Series concerts are on sale at the following price levels: $82, $65, $52, $33, and $25 (student). Includes admission to 7 pm Pre-Concert Talk. Five-concert subscriptions are also available. Purchase or call (609) 497-0020.

Related Articles View More Classical Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram