Ellen Burstyn Biography

Date of Birth: December 07, 1932 (84)
Birth Place: USA
Gender: Female

Academy, Tony and BAFTA award-winning Ellen Burstyn will make her London stage debut in The Children's Hour. Nominated six times for an Oscar for her roles in The Last Picture Show, The Exorcist, Same Time Next Year, Resurrection and Requiem for a Dream, her many film credits include Martin Scorsese's Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore for which she won the Best Actress BAFTA as well as the Academy Award. Her more recent film credits include Olivier Stone's W. in which she played Barbara Bush, Darren Aronofsky's The Fountain and Neil LaBute's remake of The Wicker Man. She can be seen on screen in the forthcoming The Mighty Macs and Main Street. Her many US theatre credits include Same Time Next Year for which she won the Tony Award, 84 Charing Cross Road, Shirley Valentine and Long Day's Journey Into Night, as well as Philip Seymour Hoffman's production of The Little Flower of East Orange for the Public Theater and LAByrinth Theater Company. Burstyn's television credits include the title role in The People vs. Jean Harris and Pack of Lies, for both which she was Emmy nominated, That's Life, The Five People You Meet in Heaven and The Book of Daniel.

Ellen Burstyn Awards and Nominations

(winners are in red)

The Lortels - 2009 - Outstanding Lead Actress
Ellen Burstyn, The Little Flower of East Orange
Drama Desk Awards - 1975 - Outstanding Actress - Play
Ellen Burstyn, Same Time, Next Year
Outer Critics Circle Awards - 1975 - Best Ensemble Performance
Ellen Burstyn, Same Time, Next Year
Tony Awards - 1975 - Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play
Ellen Burstyn , Same Time, Next Year