Mojo Gurus Set to Release New Album, 'Who Asked Ya?' 9/16

Mojo Gurus Set to Release New Album, 'Who Asked Ya?' 9/16

The Mojo Gurus ( confirmed today that they are set to release their new record, Who Asked Ya? on September 16. It is their first release on Red River Entertainment (Hawthorne Heights, Hugh Cornwell/Stranglers) with distribution through Sony/RED. The band will support the new album with two videos for the songs "Where You Hidin' Your Love" and "Bandito" along with a US tour called The Last Rock 'N' Roll Show.

Community radio station WMNF ( is presenting The Mojo Gurus CD release show at the iconic Tampa music venue Skipper's Smokehouse ( on August 30. Showtime is 8pm, Tickets $10 Advance, $13 Day of show. The release show will include some of the guest musicians who played on the record including former Ian Hunter/Mick Ronson Band keyboard player Howard Helm and trumpet player Mic Smith. The support act is six-time Creative Loafing 'Best Of The Bay' winner Rebekah Pulley and the Reluctant Prophets.

"I can't think of a better way celebrate the release of our best record yet, Who Asked Ya?, than a record release show presented by our favorite hometown radio station, WMNF," said Kevin Steele, lead singer of The Mojo Gurus said. "We'll be playing songs off the new album along with some favorites with the help of some really cool friends. You're going to get a chance to see The Mojo Gurus like you've never seen them before."

The first single off Who Asked Ya?, "Where You Hidin' Your Love", is a horn driven, funk rocker that was produced by Tommy Henricksen (Alice Cooper, Lou Reed). The album was recorded at Pro Star Studios in St. Petersburg, FL and mastered by Stephen Marsh (Jeff Beck, Muddy Waters, Ben Harper) at Marsh Mastering in Hollywood, CA. The record features 13 songs, all of which were written by vocalist Kevin Steele.
Dates will be announced soon.

The Mojo Gurus have released three critically acclaimed records through E1 Music, worked with Grammy Award winning producer Jack Douglas (John Lennon, Aerosmith, New York Dolls), played with the likes of Joe Perry, Johnny Winter, Blackberry Smoke, David Allan Coe and built their reputation on their live performances. Based in Tampa Bay, FL., The Mojo Gurus are Kevin Steele on lead vocals and harmonica, Doc Lovett on guitar and vocals, Vinnie Granese on bass and vocals and Sean Doyle on drums and vocals.

Who Asked Ya? track listing:

1. Where You Hidin' Your Love
2. Hoodoo Man
3. Devil To Pay
4. No Damn Good
5. Someone Else Will
6. Foolish Boy
7. Bad Attitude
8. Bandito
9. Wha'D'Ya Want From Me
10. Not That Much
11. The Last Rock 'N' Roll Show
12. C'mon Over To My House
13. Way Over My Head