Rose Art Museum Welcomes New Board of Directors

Rose Art Museum Welcomes New Board of Directors

The Rose Art Museum at Brandeis University has named 15 new members to its Board of Advisors and reappointed eight former board members. The unprecedented number of appointments, which follow the recruitment of Christopher Bedford as the Henry and Lois Foster Director of the Rose in 2012 and the naming of Lizbeth Krupp as chair of the board of advisors last fall, are another important step in a new era in the museum's history.

The Rose Art Museum's volunteer board includes prominent personalities in the contemporary art, academic, philanthropic, cultural and business communities in the Boston area and across the U.S. The new board members are Gannit Ankori, Leslie Aronzon, Mark Bradford, Ronni J. Casty, Rena M. Conti, Tory Fair, John S. Foster, Steven A.N. Goldstein, Susan B. Kaplan, Lizbeth Krupp, Frederick Lawrence, Beth Marcus, Dianne Markman, Tim Phillips and Lisa Yuskavage. Reappointed board members are Gerald Fineberg, Lois Foster, Matthew Kozol, Jonathan Novak, Betsy Pfau, Meryl Rose, Ann Tanenbaum and George Wachter.

"We are in the unique position of simultaneously reviving and strengthening the Rose board by welcoming new members as well as reconnecting with former board members," said Bedford. "This is an exciting time for the Rose. We have ambitious goals for the museum, and I am grateful for the opportunity to work with the board to help us achieve our collective vision for expanding access to modern and contemporary art."

Under Bedford's direction, the Rose has presented exhibitions of internationally renowned artists, including Chris Burden, Mika Rottenberg, Charline von Heyl, Ed Ruscha, Andy Warhol and Jack Whitten. It has commissioned Burden to create a permanent, outdoor sculpture for the museum's front entrance entitled Light of Reason, which will be unveiled on September 10. These exhibits and Bedford's vision for the Rose has resulted in the museum attendance increasing last year by more than 30 percent.

"We are indebted to the members of the museum's board of advisors, both new and returning, for their commitment and vision to keep the Rose Art Museum vibrant, innovative and a leading institution in the study and exhibition of modern and contemporary art," said Brandeis President Fred Lawrence. "The Rose will continue to grow in importance in the art world under the direction of Chris Bedford, Lizbeth Krupp and the board."

"The Rose Art Museum is a source of great pride for Brandeis and, equally important, it contributes to the education and development of our students," said Provost Steven A.N. Goldstein '78. "The museum and the university have a shared vision for promoting student engagement and scholarship and for how art can help us to understand the human experience and to promote social justice."