Page: 1

Songs about being cast in roles and 'making do'

jczelyph Profile Photojczelyph Profile Photo
jczelyph
Broadway Star
Broadway Star
Hi everyone!

I was just cast in a part in a show at university which is a great role but also a slight let down (let's not get into it) so am trying to think of songs that kinda sum up this feeling. Y'know, pleased you got a part, but not the one you wanted...

I can only think of 'The Alto's Lament' but I know there must be more - I'm not good at these song suggestion things.

I was also thinking of songs about this in the wider sense, maybe not about parts in shows but just 'making do' or 'seeing the silver lining' in general.
"Jane, I've been dealt a blow - I've been dealt a blow, Jane."
Wanna Be A Foster Profile PhotoWanna Be A Foster Profile Photo
Wanna Be A Foster
Broadway Legend
Broadway Legend
Doesn't that old British woman in WICKED say something to Idina about "making do"?

"Winning a Tony this year is like winning Best Attendance in third grade: no one will care but the winner and their mom."
-Kad

"I have also met him in person, and I find him to be quite funny actually. Arrogant and often misinformed, but still funny."
-bjh2114 (on Michael Riedel)
Updated On: 1/15/06 at 08:45 AM
jczelyph Profile Photojczelyph Profile Photo
jczelyph
Broadway Star
Broadway Star
I'm worried that I sound like a bit of a prima donna...I'm not. re: Songs about being cast in roles and 'making do'
"Jane, I've been dealt a blow - I've been dealt a blow, Jane."
Wanna Be A Foster Profile PhotoWanna Be A Foster Profile Photo
Wanna Be A Foster
Broadway Legend
Broadway Legend
Sweetie, we understand. You want to connect a song to your feeling. No worries. Someone will come on with something better than what I said.
"Winning a Tony this year is like winning Best Attendance in third grade: no one will care but the winner and their mom."
-Kad