Profile for ortizki

Member Name: ortizki
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

BroadwayWorld Book Club Week Nine Discussion Prompts: Final Thoughts, Outtakes  May 25 2020, 03:58:16 PM

Rereading The Untold Stories of Broadway: Volume 1 reignited my love for old Broadway theatre history. The last time I read this, I was a freshman in college in the fall of 2013. During the unprecedented time we're currently in, this book is exactly what we need. 

There was so much that I took away from reading this, but ultimately, it truly made me appreciate the doormen, ushers, box office treasurers, and stagehands at these theatres even more. Without them, there reall

BroadwayWorld Book Club Week Eight Discussion Prompts: The Lyceum Theatre  May 18 2020, 03:09:07 PM

The Lyceum Theatre has always been sort of a mystery to me, mainly because I've never been to it, let alone have seen a show there. However, as a huge theatre history nerd, I really enjoyed reading this chapter. 

The one show that sticks out to me (because it was such a huge part of this chapter) would definitely have to be [title of show]. Although I've never seen it or heard the cast album before, the stories of camaraderie and love of theatre stick out to me. I

BroadwayWorld Book Club Week Seven Discussion Prompts: The Mark Hellinger Theatre  May 11 2020, 12:58:19 PM

I love learning about lost Broadway theaters. Even though the Hellinger is no longer used as a theater, I'm glad that it's still standing and that the Times Square Church kept the beauty of the interior!

Unfortunately, I never got the chance to see a show there (the theater closed in 1989, and I was born six years later, in 1995!). I actually used to work across the street from the church, and never even thought to take a peek inside, or even take a stroll-by for that matt