Theatre Information

Ethel Barrymore Theatre (New York, NY)
243 West 47th St.

Get Show News + Discounts



THE GREAT UNKNOWN Plays NYMF, Opens 10/5
by BWW News Desk - Sep 8, 2010

The New York Musical Theatre Festival, Patricia Miller and DiStar Productions/Diana Glazer are pleased to announce the world premiere production of THE GREAT UNKNOWN, choreographed by Liza Gennaro and directed by Don Stephenson. (more...)

Street Theatre Presents DESPERATE HOURS, 10/11-28
by BWW News Desk - Sep 17, 2012

Adapted from the best-selling novel, a smash hit on Broadway with Paul Newman, and winner of a Tony Award, The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals that is based on actual events. (more...)

THE GREAT UNKNOWN Plays NYMF, Opens 10/5
by BWW News Desk - Oct 5, 2010

The New York Musical Theatre Festival, Patricia Miller and DiStar Productions/Diana Glazer are pleased to announce the world premiere production of THE GREAT UNKNOWN, choreographed by Liza Gennaro and directed by Don Stephenson. (more...)

POLL: What show are you most excited about seeing in the coming days?
by Jeffrey Ellis - Oct 3, 2012

New BroadwayWorld.com Poll - What show are you most excited about seeing in the coming days? (more...)

Street Theatre Presents DESPERATE HOURS, 10/11-28
by BWW News Desk - Oct 27, 2012

Adapted from the best-selling novel, a smash hit on Broadway with Paul Newman, and winner of a Tony Award, The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals that is based on actual events. (more...)

Creative Team Announced for Manhattan Concert Productions' TITANIC THE MUSICAL at Avery Fisher Hall - Don Stephenson, Kevin Stites & More
by BWW News Desk - Oct 25, 2013

Manhattan Concert Productions presents the second installment of its Broadway Series in 2014 with a concert performance of the Tony Award winning musical, Titanic The Musical, from a Book by Peter Stone and Music & Lyrics by Maury Yeston, at renowned Avery Fisher Hall, Lincoln Center on Monday, February 17, 2014. (more...)

BWW Reviews: Street Theatre Company Misfires With Anachronistic THE DESPERATE HOURS
by Jeffrey Ellis - Oct 21, 2012

Despite the taut direction of Ryan Williams, particularly sinister underscoring by Rollie Mains and a compelling, bravura performance by Luke Hatmaker as the ringleader of a group of prison escapees, Street Theatre Company's The Desperate Hours is a rare misfire from the company and the creative team charged with bringing it to the stage. (more...)

Broadway to Dim Lights in Honor of Paul Newman October 3 at 8pm
by BWW News Desk - Oct 2, 2008

The Broadway community mourns the loss of Paul Newman, the universally admired stage and screen actor, director, and philanthropist. The marquees of Broadway theatres in New York will be dimmed in his memory on Friday, October 3rd, 2008 at exactly 8:00pm for one minute. (more...)

Street Theatre Presents DESPERATE HOURS, 10/11-28
by BWW News Desk - Oct 17, 2012

Adapted from the best-selling novel, a smash hit on Broadway with Paul Newman, and winner of a Tony Award, The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals that is based on actual events. (more...)

Street Theatre Presents DESPERATE HOURS, Now thru 10/28
by BWW News Desk - Oct 11, 2012

Adapted from the best-selling novel, a smash hit on Broadway with Paul Newman, and winner of a Tony Award, The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals that is based on actual events. (more...)

Scoop: DATELINE on NBC - Tonight, November 7, 2015
by TV Scoop - Nov 7, 2015

Get all the scoop on DATELINE, airing on NBC tonight, November 7, 2015! (more...)

Scoop: DATELINE on NBC - Saturday, November 7, 2015
by - Nov 3, 2015

Get all the scoop on DATELINE, airing on NBC on Saturday, November 7, 2015! (more...)

Scoop: DATELINE on NBC - Tonight, March 22, 2015
by TV Scoop - Mar 22, 2015

Get all the scoop on DATELINE, airing on NBC tonight, March 22, 2015! (more...)

Scoop: DATELINE on NBC - Sunday, March 22, 2015
by TV Scoop - Mar 17, 2015

Get all the scoop on DATELINE, airing on NBC on Sunday, March 22, 2015! (more...)

ATTACK OF THE ELVIS IMPERSONATORS to Bring the King Off-Broadway This Summer
by BWW News Desk - Mar 13, 2017

Producer Lawrence Rosner will present the New York premiere of the new musical that will unleash your inner hound dog, Attack of the Elvis Impersonators, with book, music and lyrics by Lory Lazarus.  (more...)

ATTACK OF THE ELVIS IMPERSONATORS Brings Hound Dog Fever Off-Broadway Tomorrow
by BWW News Desk - Jun 14, 2017

Elvis is in the house!  Opening Night of the New York premiere of Attack of the Elvis Impersonators, the zany new musical that will leave you howling for more, with book, music and lyrics by Lory Lazarus, at The Lion Theatre at Theatre Row (410 West 42nd Street, between 9th & 10th Avenues) is tomorrow, June 15, 2017 at 8:00 p.m. (more...)

ATTACK OF THE ELVIS IMPERSONATORS Debuts Off-Broadway Tonight at Theatre Row
by BWW News Desk - Jun 1, 2017

Performances begin TONIGHT for the New York premiere of Attack of the Elvis Impersonators, the zany new musical that will leave you howling for more, with book, music and lyrics by Lory Lazarus, at The Lion Theatre at Theatre Row (410 West 42nd Street, between 9th & 10th Avenues). Opening Night is Thursday, June 15, 2017 at 8:00 p.m. (more...)

Actor Karl Malden Passes Away At 97
by BWW News Desk - Jul 1, 2009

The Los Angeles Times reports the sad news that Karl Malden, an Oscar winner for playing his Broadway-originated role as Mitch in 'A Streetcar Named Desire,' died today. He was 97. (more...)

John Treacy Egan, Jill Paice, and More Set to Lead LEND ME A TENOR at Paper Mill Playhouse
by BWW News Desk - Jan 8, 2013

Paper Mill Playhouse (Mark S. Hoebee-Producing Artistic Director, Todd Schmidt-Managing Director) has just announced the cast for its winter comedy, Ken Ludwig's Lend Me a Tenor. This hysterically funny, door-slamming comedy will feature Broadway stars and Paper Mill Playhouse favorites including: Judith Blazer (Maria), John Treacy Egan (Tito), Donna English (Diana), Nancy Johnston (Julia), David Josefsberg (Max), Michael Kostroff (Saunders), Jill Paice (Maggie) and Mark Price (Bellhop). Lend Me a Tenor will be directed by Don Stephenson. Lend Me a Tenor will run at the Millburn, New Jersey, theater from February 13 through March 10, 2013. The official press opening is Sunday, February 17, at 7:00pm. (more...)

Ken Ludwig's Starry A COMEDY OF TENORS Guffaws at Paper Mill Playhouse Starting Tomorrow
by BWW News Desk - Jan 31, 2017

Paper Mill Playhouse, recipient of the 2016 Regional Theatre Tony Award, presents the comedy by Ken Ludwig, A Comedy of Tenors, the hilarious sequel to the Tony Award-winning comedy Lend Me a Tenor. A friendly reminder that performances begin tomorrow, February 1, 2017 for a limited run through Sunday, February 26, 2017 at Paper Mill Playhouse (22 Brookside Drive) in Millburn, NJ. (more...)

Theatre Works Premieres THE DESPERATE HOURS, 1/28-2/13
by BWW News Desk - Jan 28, 2011

Fans of CSI and Law & Order will love the crime drama The Desperate Hours. The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals and of civilized people being driven to violence. Written by Joseph Hayes The Desperate Hours was based on his 1954 thriller novel of the same title and was the basis for the films The Desperate Hours in 1955 and Desperate Hours in 1990. Winner of 2 Tony Awards this production takes a fresh approach to a classic, exciting crime drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Performing on the Mary Jane Gyder Main Stage The Desperate Hours will run January 28th - February 13th, 2011. (more...)

Theater Works Presents THE DESPERATE HOURS 1/28-2/13
by BWW News Desk - Jan 28, 2011

Opening this weekend at Theater Works is the award winning crime drama The Desperate Hours. (more...)

Theater Works Presents THE DESPERATE HOURS 1/28-2/13
by BWW News Desk - Jan 25, 2011

Opening this weekend at Theater Works is the award winning crime drama The Desperate Hours. (more...)

VANYA AND SONIA AND MASHA AND SPIKE Begins Tonight at Paper Mill Playhouse
by BWW News Desk - Jan 21, 2015

Paper Mill Playhouse presents its winter comedy, Christopher Durang's Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike. This touching and wickedly hysterical Tony Award-winning best play features Broadway, television and film veterans: Philippe Bowgen (Spike), Gina Daniels (Cassandra), Carolyn McCormick (Masha), Mark Nelson (Vanya), Michele Pawk (Sonia) and Jamie Ann Romero (Nina). Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike will be directed by Don Stephenson. Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike will run eight times a week at the Millburn, New Jersey, theater from tonight, January 21 through February 15, 2015. The official press opening night is Sunday, January 25, at 7:00pm. (more...)

Theatre Works Premieres THE DESPERATE HOURS, 1/28-2/13
by BWW News Desk - Jan 20, 2011

Fans of CSI and Law & Order will love the crime drama The Desperate Hours. The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals and of civilized people being driven to violence. Written by Joseph Hayes The Desperate Hours was based on his 1954 thriller novel of the same title and was the basis for the films The Desperate Hours in 1955 and Desperate Hours in 1990. Winner of 2 Tony Awards this production takes a fresh approach to a classic, exciting crime drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Performing on the Mary Jane Gyder Main Stage The Desperate Hours will run January 28th - February 13th, 2011. (more...)

Theater Works Presents THE DESPERATE HOURS, Closes 2/13
by BWW News Desk - Feb 13, 2011

Closing this weekend at Theater Works is the award winning crime drama The Desperate Hours. The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals and of civilized people being driven to violence. 'That very rare thing, an almost perfect melodrama fast, tight, logical, combining sentiment with gunfire in exactly the right proportions.'-The New Yorker. Written by Joseph Hayes The Desperate Hours was based on his 1954 thriller novel of the same title and was the basis for the films The Desperate Hours in 1955 and Desperate Hours in 1990. Winner of 2 Tony Awards this production takes a fresh approach to a classic, exciting crime drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Performing on the Mary Jane Gyder Main Stage The Desperate Hours will close February 13th, 2011. (more...)

TheatreWorks Holds Auditions for THE DESPERATE HOURS
by BWW News Desk - Dec 27, 2010

If you are a fan of any of the CSI or Law & Order TV shows, you should really enjoy our Tony Award winning crime drama The Desperate Hours. To audition please contact the director - Jerry Morrison at theatrekidjlm@gmail.com or 406-459-6053. (more...)

Michele Pawk, Carolyn McCormick & More to Star in VANYA AND SONIA AND MASHA AND SPIKE at Paper Mill Playhouse
by BWW News Desk - Dec 15, 2014

Paper Mill Playhouse has announced casting for its winter comedy, Christopher Durang's Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike. This touching and wickedly hysterical Tony Award-winning best play features Broadway, television and film veterans: Philippe Bowgen (Spike), Gina Daniels (Cassandra), Carolyn McCormick (Masha), Mark Nelson (Vanya), Michele Pawk (Sonia) and Jamie Ann Romero (Nina). Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike will be directed by Don Stephenson. Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike will run eight times a week at the Millburn, New Jersey, theater from January 21 through February 15, 2015. The official press opening night is Sunday, January 25, at 7:00pm. Paper Mill Playhouse's 2014-2015 Season is sponsored by Investors Bank. (more...)

 1  2