The Desperate Hours
Theatre
Ethel Barrymore Theatre (New York, NY)
243 West 47th St.
New York, NY
Social / Subscribe


Buy Tickets - Closed Show
Seating Chart
Grosses
CDS/Books/DVDs
Articles

THE GREAT UNKNOWN Plays NYMF, Opens 10/5
by BWW News Desk - Sep 8, 2010

The New York Musical Theatre Festival, Patricia Miller and DiStar Productions/Diana Glazer are pleased to announce the world premiere production of THE GREAT UNKNOWN, choreographed by Liza Gennaro and directed by Don Stephenson. (more...)

Street Theatre Presents DESPERATE HOURS, 10/11-28
by BWW News Desk - Sep 17, 2012

Adapted from the best-selling novel, a smash hit on Broadway with Paul Newman, and winner of a Tony Award, The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals that is based on actual events. (more...)

THE GREAT UNKNOWN Plays NYMF, Opens 10/5
by BWW News Desk - Oct 5, 2010

The New York Musical Theatre Festival, Patricia Miller and DiStar Productions/Diana Glazer are pleased to announce the world premiere production of THE GREAT UNKNOWN, choreographed by Liza Gennaro and directed by Don Stephenson. (more...)

POLL: What show are you most excited about seeing in the coming days?
by Jeffrey Ellis - Oct 3, 2012

New BroadwayWorld.com Poll - What show are you most excited about seeing in the coming days? (more...)

Street Theatre Presents DESPERATE HOURS, 10/11-28
by BWW News Desk - Oct 27, 2012

Adapted from the best-selling novel, a smash hit on Broadway with Paul Newman, and winner of a Tony Award, The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals that is based on actual events. (more...)

Creative Team Announced for Manhattan Concert Productions' TITANIC THE MUSICAL at Avery Fisher Hall - Don Stephenson, Kevin Stites & More
by BWW News Desk - Oct 25, 2013

Manhattan Concert Productions presents the second installment of its Broadway Series in 2014 with a concert performance of the Tony Award winning musical, Titanic The Musical, from a Book by Peter Stone and Music & Lyrics by Maury Yeston, at renowned Avery Fisher Hall, Lincoln Center on Monday, February 17, 2014. (more...)

BWW Reviews: Street Theatre Company Misfires With Anachronistic THE DESPERATE HOURS
by Jeffrey Ellis - Oct 21, 2012

Despite the taut direction of Ryan Williams, particularly sinister underscoring by Rollie Mains and a compelling, bravura performance by Luke Hatmaker as the ringleader of a group of prison escapees, Street Theatre Company's The Desperate Hours is a rare misfire from the company and the creative team charged with bringing it to the stage. (more...)

Broadway to Dim Lights in Honor of Paul Newman October 3 at 8pm
by BWW News Desk - Oct 2, 2008

The Broadway community mourns the loss of Paul Newman, the universally admired stage and screen actor, director, and philanthropist. The marquees of Broadway theatres in New York will be dimmed in his memory on Friday, October 3rd, 2008 at exactly 8:00pm for one minute. (more...)

Street Theatre Presents DESPERATE HOURS, 10/11-28
by BWW News Desk - Oct 17, 2012

Adapted from the best-selling novel, a smash hit on Broadway with Paul Newman, and winner of a Tony Award, The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals that is based on actual events. (more...)

Street Theatre Presents DESPERATE HOURS, Now thru 10/28
by BWW News Desk - Oct 11, 2012

Adapted from the best-selling novel, a smash hit on Broadway with Paul Newman, and winner of a Tony Award, The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals that is based on actual events. (more...)

Actor Karl Malden Passes Away At 97
by BWW News Desk - Jul 1, 2009

The Los Angeles Times reports the sad news that Karl Malden, an Oscar winner for playing his Broadway-originated role as Mitch in 'A Streetcar Named Desire,' died today. He was 97. (more...)

John Treacy Egan, Jill Paice, and More Set to Lead LEND ME A TENOR at Paper Mill Playhouse
by BWW News Desk - Jan 8, 2013

Paper Mill Playhouse (Mark S. Hoebee-Producing Artistic Director, Todd Schmidt-Managing Director) has just announced the cast for its winter comedy, Ken Ludwig's Lend Me a Tenor. This hysterically funny, door-slamming comedy will feature Broadway stars and Paper Mill Playhouse favorites including: Judith Blazer (Maria), John Treacy Egan (Tito), Donna English (Diana), Nancy Johnston (Julia), David Josefsberg (Max), Michael Kostroff (Saunders), Jill Paice (Maggie) and Mark Price (Bellhop). Lend Me a Tenor will be directed by Don Stephenson. Lend Me a Tenor will run at the Millburn, New Jersey, theater from February 13 through March 10, 2013. The official press opening is Sunday, February 17, at 7:00pm. (more...)

Theatre Works Premieres THE DESPERATE HOURS, 1/28-2/13
by BWW News Desk - Jan 28, 2011

Fans of CSI and Law & Order will love the crime drama The Desperate Hours. The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals and of civilized people being driven to violence. Written by Joseph Hayes The Desperate Hours was based on his 1954 thriller novel of the same title and was the basis for the films The Desperate Hours in 1955 and Desperate Hours in 1990. Winner of 2 Tony Awards this production takes a fresh approach to a classic, exciting crime drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Performing on the Mary Jane Gyder Main Stage The Desperate Hours will run January 28th - February 13th, 2011. (more...)

Theater Works Presents THE DESPERATE HOURS 1/28-2/13
by BWW News Desk - Jan 28, 2011

Opening this weekend at Theater Works is the award winning crime drama The Desperate Hours. (more...)

Theater Works Presents THE DESPERATE HOURS 1/28-2/13
by BWW News Desk - Jan 25, 2011

Opening this weekend at Theater Works is the award winning crime drama The Desperate Hours. (more...)

Theatre Works Premieres THE DESPERATE HOURS, 1/28-2/13
by BWW News Desk - Jan 20, 2011

Fans of CSI and Law & Order will love the crime drama The Desperate Hours. The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals and of civilized people being driven to violence. Written by Joseph Hayes The Desperate Hours was based on his 1954 thriller novel of the same title and was the basis for the films The Desperate Hours in 1955 and Desperate Hours in 1990. Winner of 2 Tony Awards this production takes a fresh approach to a classic, exciting crime drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Performing on the Mary Jane Gyder Main Stage The Desperate Hours will run January 28th - February 13th, 2011. (more...)

Theater Works Presents THE DESPERATE HOURS, Closes 2/13
by BWW News Desk - Feb 13, 2011

Closing this weekend at Theater Works is the award winning crime drama The Desperate Hours. The Desperate Hours is a story of a home invaded by three escaped criminals and of civilized people being driven to violence. 'That very rare thing, an almost perfect melodrama fast, tight, logical, combining sentiment with gunfire in exactly the right proportions.'-The New Yorker. Written by Joseph Hayes The Desperate Hours was based on his 1954 thriller novel of the same title and was the basis for the films The Desperate Hours in 1955 and Desperate Hours in 1990. Winner of 2 Tony Awards this production takes a fresh approach to a classic, exciting crime drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Performing on the Mary Jane Gyder Main Stage The Desperate Hours will close February 13th, 2011. (more...)

TheatreWorks Holds Auditions for THE DESPERATE HOURS
by BWW News Desk - Dec 27, 2010

If you are a fan of any of the CSI or Law & Order TV shows, you should really enjoy our Tony Award winning crime drama The Desperate Hours. To audition please contact the director - Jerry Morrison at theatrekidjlm@gmail.com or 406-459-6053. (more...)