The Old Globe Welcomes New Board Members for 2014

The Old Globe Welcomes New Board Members for 2014

The Old Globe's Annual Meeting was held on January 27 on the Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage in the Old Globe Theatre, part of the Conrad Prebys Theatre Center. After a reception in the Ottenstein Lobby, outgoing Old Globe Board Chair Harold W. Fuson, Jr. welcomed the Board of Directors and guests and announced the newly elected Board and Executive Committee members, including his successor as Board Chair, Elaine Bennett Darwin. Managing Director Michael G. Murphy gave an update on the Globe's financial position and presented highlights of the 2013 fiscal year, and Artistic Director Barry Edelstein spoke about the artistic future of the Globe and its place in the San Diego community. The meeting was followed by a reception and dinner for the Board of Directors, Ambassadors, and Founders Level Donors at the Prado Ballroom in Balboa Park's historic House of Hospitality.

It was announced that the 2014 Board of Directors's Executive Committee will consist of Darwin (Chair), Fuson (Immediate Past Chair, Ex Officio), Vicki L. Zeiger (Vice Chair, Nominating), Peter J. Cooper (Vice Chair, Education), Anthony S. Thornley (Treasurer), Harvey P. White (Secretary; Past Chair, Ex Officio), Mary Beth Adderley, Valerie S. Cooper, Paula Powers, Conrad Prebys, Ann Steck (Chair, Finance), Karin Winner, Donald Cohn (Past Chair, Ex Officio), and Kathryn Hattox (Past Chair, Ex Officio).

Fuson also announced that the following candidates identified by the Globe's Nominating Committee were formally elected to serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors: Stephen P. Embry, Jack Galloway, Patricia Hodgkin, Mitzi Yates Lizárraga, and Tim Rafalovich. Current Board members who will begin new consecutive three-year terms in 2014 include Elizabeth Altman, Pamela Cesak, Nikki Clay, Pamela A. Farr, Karen Fox, Daphne Jameson, David L. Reagan, Jean Shekhter, Ann Steck, Evelyn Mack Truitt, and June Yoder. Board members Deni Jacobs, Julie Sullivan, and Jim Wening, whose terms of service concluded at the end of 2013, were honored for their outstanding commitment to The Old Globe.

The Old Globe's Board of Directors also includes: Joseph Cohen, Ann Davies, Silvija Devine, Victor P. Gálvez, Jo Ann Kilty, Stacey LeVasseur Vasquez, Sheila Lipinsky, Ramin Pourteymour, Sandra Redman, Crystal Sargent, Steven Stuckey, Daniel Sullivan, Rhona Thompson, Debra Turner, Linda Van Vark, Jordine Von Wantoch, Pam Wagner, Lynne Wheeler, and Debbie Wilson.

After the meeting, the Board and guests adjourned to the Annual Meeting Reception and Dinner held in the Prado Ballroom. The celebratory evening featured a program of songs performed by several local actors as well as Angel Desai, one of the stars of The Winter's Tale, which runs through March 16 in the Sheryl and Harvey White Theatre, part of the Conrad Prebys Theatre Center.

Photo by Doug Gates

More San Diego!
Go to the Homepage

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
Sweeney Todd in San DiegoSweeney Todd
(Runs 8/22 - 8/31)
Boomers in San DiegoBoomers
(Runs 6/14 - 8/31)
The Full Monty in San DiegoThe Full Monty
(Runs 7/26 - 9/7)
The Two Gentlemen of Verona in San DiegoThe Two Gentlemen of Verona
(Runs 8/10 - 9/14)
TRU in San DiegoTRU
(Runs 8/21 - 9/21)
Waiting for Godot in San DiegoWaiting for Godot
(Runs 9/22 - 9/22)

View All | Add Show | Auditions

Message Board