THE FLYING LATKE Returns to The Flea, 12/1-16


The Flea Theater presents THE FLYING LATKE by Caldecott-Medal winner Arthur Yorinks, a heart-warming tale of Chanukah celebrations, holiday dysfunction and the miracle of a certain soaring potato pancake. Directed by Flea Resident Director Ben Kamine, this limited engagement runs Saturday & Sunday mornings only, December 1 through 16 at The Flea.

Adapted by Yorinks from his classic children's book, THE FLYING LATKE tells the story of young Danny Silverstein and his "meshuggeh" family as they celebrate the first night of Chanukah. Their holiday food fight sends a latke sailing out the window and over the city, causing a UFO frenzy that traps the Silversteins in their home with their extended family visiting and nothing but latkes to eat.

"It's my favorite Chanukah story," says Kamine. "We have all had this experience of family togetherness at holiday gatherings; those are my aunts and uncles up there on stage."

Following last year's successful sold-out run, The Flea is bringing back the world premiere of the stage version of this book. Performers include Yoni Ben-Yehuda, Lydian Blossom, Tom Carman, Jimmy Dailey, Katherine Folk-Sullivan, Jessica Frey, Grant Harrison, Adam Lebowitz-Lockard, Rachel Lin, Evan Maltby, Tedra Millan, Ivano Pulito, Elly Smokler, all members of The Bats, The Flea's resident company of actors. With scenic design by James McSweeney, costume design by Ashley Farra, lighting design by Jonathan Cottle, sound design by Jeremy Bloom and stage management by Kel Haney.

Arthur Yorinks has written and directed for opera, theater, dance, film, and radio and is the author of over thirty acclaimed and award-winning books, including the Caldecott Medal-winner, Hey, Al. In his four decades of working in the performing arts, Mr. Yorinks has written and directed numerous plays including So, Sue Me, which premiered at The Kennedy Center and It's Alive, which premiered at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center in New York. Mr. Yorinks was Philip Glass's librettist for the operas The Juniper Tree and The Fall of the House of Usher, both of which have been performed all over the world. Mr. Yorinks, in addition to originating A New Theater of Sound in collaboration with The Jerome L. Greene Performance Space, consults for New York Public Radio and runs the company he founded, The Yorinks Theater Group. Mr. Yorinks's latest project is the dramatic series American Song, which is being developed and presented at The Flea Theater.

Benjamin H. Kamine is a Resident Director at The Flea Theater. He recently directed the world premiere of Thomas Bradshaw's Job at The Flea. Other fun directing credits include Wars and Whores by Jeffrey Barg and Sarah Ollove (Philly Fringe) and Medea's Got Some Issues by Emilio Williams (Theater Row). He is the Resident Director at the Jewish Plays Project and is a member of the Lincoln Center Theater Directors Lab. He also works throughout New York as a sound, lighting, and projection designer, and is a Guest Artist at the Lab School for Collaborative Studies. Previous directing credits for The Flea: The Flying Latke by Arthur Yorinks (2011); Kathleen Supove and the Electric Sheep; Job by Thomas Bradshaw; The Honest Whore, Act 4. Me, My Girl, and My Grandpa Shmulee by Dan McCabe (#serials@theflea)

The Flea Resident Directors at the Flea are a group of emerging artists who develop new work and mount productions with The Bats. Past productions from Flea Resident Directors include Luis Enrique Gutiérrez Ortiz Monasterio's I Hate F_cking Mexicans, Thomas Bradshaw's JOB, Nick Jones' The Wundelsteipen and other difficult roles for young people, Ed Himes' The Electric Lighthouse, and #serials@theflea, The Flea's hit late-night episodic play competition.

The Bats are the resident Acting Company members of The Flea Theater. Each year over a thousand actors audition for a place in this unique company. The Bats perform in extended runs of challenging classic and new plays. The Bats have recently appeared in World Premieres by A.R. Gurney, Will Eno, Adam Rapp, Beau Willimon, Mac Wellman, Elizabeth Swados, Thomas Bradshaw, Itamar Moses, Sheila Callaghan, Julian Sheppard, Ken Urban, Tommy Smith, Jonathan Reynolds, Trista Baldwin, Laurel Haines, Qui Nguyen and Sean Graney.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts