New Original Play 'Doubles Crossed: The Ballad of Rodrigo' to Premiere at Tada Theater, 5/24

New Original Play 'Doubles Crossed: The Ballad of Rodrigo' to Premiere at Tada Theater, 5/24

This time, it's no joke. Funny...Sheesh Productions presents Doubles Crossed: The Ballad of Rodrigo, an original play by Jason S. Grossman and directed by Amber Gallery. Funny...Sheesh produces original plays, variety shows and comedy showcases. They are working with Ivy Theatre Company in a space sharing partnership to promote artistic union and collaboration within the New York City independent theatre scene. The two companies are also sharing the same production team uniting their promotional efforts, as well as hosting a joint fundraiser. Doubles Crossed: The Ballad of Rodrigo is a sequel to Funny...Sheesh's play, Doubles Crossed (2012). Audience members need not have seen the first play to enjoy this neo-noir thriller.

Doubles Crossed: The Ballad of Rodrigo is a tense, theatrical re-imagining of the film noir dramas of the 40s and 50s. Suspicion and secret alliances underscore the gritty story of criminal-turned-G-man Freddie Tower and the past he can't escape. Cops, mobsters, heists, a destroyed criminal empire, and a modern down-and-out scam artist bring this adventure full circle.

The cast features: Gregory James Cohan, Lars D. Drew, Matthew J. Nichols*, James Holden, Cindy Keiter*, Alison Parks, Ridley Parson*, Allen Warnock, and Charles Wilson (*denotes an Actors' Equity Association member).

"Doubles Crossed: The Ballad of Rodrigo is an homage to not only the golden age of film noir (Killer's Kiss, The Killers, DOA, etc.), but to the great neo-noir films made since (Memento, L.A. Confidential, True Romance, The Cooler, etc.). This play is a hybrid between the two,"-Jason S. Grossman, playwright and producer.

Performance dates:
Saturday, May 24, 7PM
Sunday, May 25, 3PM
Thursday, May 29, 8PM
Friday, May 30, 7PM
Saturday, May 31, 9PM
Sunday, June 1, 7PM
Tuesday, June 3, 8PM
Wednesday, June 4, 8PM
Wednesday, June 11, 8PM
Thursday, June 12, 8PM
Friday, June 13, 8:00PM
Saturday, June 14, 7PM
Sunday, June 15, 7PM
Friday, June 20, 8PM
Saturday, June 21, 9PM
Sunday, June 22, 3PM

TICKETS: http://balladofrodrigo.brownpapertickets.com/.

All performances will play the Tada Theater, 15 West 28th Street, 2nd Floor, NY, NY 10001.

More Off-Off-Broadway! More...


Comment & Share


About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
 
Advertisement Advertisement