The Amoralists Announce World Premiere of THE BAD AND THE BETTER Directed by Daniel Aukin for 6/14 - 7/21


The Amoralists have announced the World Premiere of The Bad and the Better, written by Derek Ahonen, directed by Obie Award winner Daniel Aukin and featuring The Amoralists acting ensemble. The acclaimed downtown theater company moves uptown for a 6-week Off-Broadway run from June 14 – July 21, 2012 at The Peter Jay Sharp Theater, located at 416 West 42 Street between 9 and 10 Avenues in New York City. Previews begin June 14 for a June 19 opening.

The Bad and the Better is a riveting detective noir centered around the Lang brothers. One with everything to lose. One with everything to prove. Both in too deep. Set in the basements, balconies and bars where secrets are whispered and revealed, join a group of local anarchists, law enforcement officials and political power players. All are waging war: against injustice, corruption and, ultimately, the people they love the most. A cautionary tale about the hypocrisy of extreme principles, The Bad and the Better explores the dangers of maintaining loyalty and protecting your family, whoever they are, at any cost. When it comes to the bad and the better, what's the difference?

The cast is comprised of 28 actors and features Amoralists ensemble members ByRon Anthony (HotelMotel), William Apps (Happy in the Poorhouse, The Hallway Trilogy), Selene Beretta (Happy in the Poorhouse), James Kautz (The Pied Pipers of the Lower East Side, Dedalus Lounge, The Hallway Trilogy), Nick Lawson (The Pied Pipers of the Lower East Side, Happy in the Poorhouse), Sarah Lemp (The Pied Pipers of the Lower East Side, The Hallway Trilogy), Sarah Roy (Bring Us the Head of Your Daughter), Anna Stromberg (HotelMotel), Jordan Tisdale (HotelMotel) and Vanessa Vache (HotelMotel). The cast also includes first time Amoralists actors Clyde Baldo ("The Sopranos"), Reuben Barsky, Penny Bittone, Regina Blandon (Lead role of Bibi in Mexican sitcom "La familia P. Luche"), Ugo Chukwu (These Seven Sicknesses), Wade Dunham, Edgar Eguia (She Kills Monsters), Rebeca Fong, Chris Lanceley (The Day Everything Changes Between Us at Cannes), David Lanson, Judy Merrick, David Nash, Cassandra Paras, James Rees, Lucas Seigal, Dan Stern, Kelley Swindall and Chris Wharton.

The creative team includes Alfred Schatz (Set Design), Natalie Robin (Lighting Design), Philip Carluzzo (Sound Design), Moria Clinton (Costume Design), Matthew Pilieci (Assistant Director), Whitney Dearden (Stage Manager), Judy Merrick (Prop Master) and Danica Novgorodoff (Artwork). The production team consists of Kelcie Beene (Producer), Anthony Francavilla (General Manager), Zachary Laks (Associate General Manager), Sean Bauer (Director of Production), Caroline Hendrix (Director of Development) and Seena Hodges (Director of Marketing).

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts