Hani Furstenberg, Brian Mendes & More Join Adam Rapp's THROUGH THE YELLOW HOUR at Rattlestick; Full Cast Announced!


Rattlestick Playwrights Theater Artistic Director David Van Asselt and Managing Director Brian Long have announced the cast and creative team for the world premiere of Through the Yellow Hour, a play written and directed by Adam Rapp (Pulitzer Prize finalist for Red Light Winter). The first production of the company's 18th season, Through the Yellow Hour will begin performances on Thursday, September 13, 2012 at Rattlestick Theater (224 Waverly Place-off Seventh Avenue South, between Perry and West 11th Streets). The official opening night is set for Thursday, September 27th at 7pm. The production is scheduled to run through October 28th. Talkbacks with Adam Rapp will follow the performances on September 21, October 1, October 12, and October 22.

In Through the Yellow Hour, the United States has been attacked. Men are being castrated, women enumerated. Ellen has been in hiding for 52 days, subsisting on very little, hoping against hope for her husband to return. As the world around her falls further into senseless chaos, she takes an unlikely action, one that just might signal a new beginning.

The cast includes Hani Furstenberg, Brian Mendes, Matt Pilieci, Danielle Slavick, Alok Tewari, Joanne Tucker, and Vladimir Versailles.

The creative team features Andromache Chalfant (scenic design), Jessica Pabst (costume design), Keith Parham (lighting design), Christian Frederickson (sound design), and Andrew Diaz (properties). Michael Denis is production stage manager and Lori Singleton is assistant stage manager.

The performance schedule is: Sunday-Monday at 7:30pm, Wednesday at 7:30pm, Thursday-Friday at 8:00pm, and Saturday at 2pm & 8pm. Tickets are $55 for general admission, $15 for patrons under 30 and $10 for students (with Valid ID), and are available through www.rattlestick.org or by calling Ovationtix at 866.811.4111. Rattlestick is also offering $15 discounted tickets for theater artists on the Rattlestick Facebook Page.

Rattlestick Playwrights Theateris a multi-award-winning company which has produced over sixty world premieres in the past seventeen seasons and was the recipient of the 2007 Ross Wetzsteon Memorial OBIE Award for its work developing new and innovative work. Previous plays include Two Boys in a Bed, Message to Michael, Carpool, Volunteer Man, A Trip to the Beach, Ascendancy, Stuck, Vick's Boy, The Messenger, Saved or Destroyed, Neil's Garden, My Special Friend, Faster, Bliss, St. Crispin's Day, Where We're Born, Five Flights, Boise, Finer Noble Gases, God Hates The Irish: The Ballad of Armless Johnny, Miss Julie, Acts of Mercy: passion-play, Cagelove, It Goes Without Saying, Dark Matters, Stay, American Sligo, Rag and Bone, War, Geometry of Fire, That Pretty Pretty or The Rape Play, The Amish Project, Killers and Other Family, Post No Bills, Blind, Little Doc, underneathmybed, There Are No More Big Secrets, The Hallway Trilogy, Carson McCullers Talks About Love, The Wood, Asuncion, Horsedreams, Yosemite, Massacre (Sing to Your Children), 3C, the Off-Broadway GLAAD Award-nominated hit The Last Sunday in June, Craig Wright's The Pavilion (Drama Desk nominee--Outstanding Play of 2005) and Lady (Drama Desk nominee--Outstanding Play of 2008), as well as The Aliens by Annie Baker (2010 Obie Award winner for Best New American Play).

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts