Fugitive Kind's THE PLIANT GIRLS Opens 5/9

Fugitive Kind's THE PLIANT GIRLS Opens 5/9

Opening May 9, in Fugitive Kind's breathless, visceral style, director Amanda McRaven and playwright Meghan Brown reunite after a hugely successful run of The Fire Room at the 2013 Hollywood Fringe Festival.

Help us, save us, please! Fifty blood-stained brides seek refuge after murdering their husbands on their wedding night, but no one's eager to take them in. As Kay, Leta, Arianna, Courtney, and Philomena beg for their lives, their stories form a complex tapestry of contemporary sisterhood . . . and provide insight into the deaths of the men who stood in their way. Inspired by Aeschylus's The Suppliants, The Pliant Girls is a haunting exploration of love, sexual politics, and the power of redemption.

Fugitive Kind is devoted to true ensemble work and to making theater in Los Angeles a rich and deeply tangible experience. Made up of artists who have worked together for many years, each production is crafted with connectivity and dedication to form. We are inspired by possibility and by what can only exist in live art.

Featuring veteran company members Rachel Grate, Sage Howard, Mercedes Manning, Jim Senti, and Jason Vande Brake, and introducing Jennice Butler, Tyler Seiple, Matt Musgrove, Robyn Buck, and Julia Aks. Assistant Direction by Sam Everett Baker, Set by Jeanine Ringer, Lighting by Karyn Lawrence, Costumes by Rachel Stivers. Live accompaniment by sound artist Ray Salas. For more information and ticket information: fugitivekind.com

Performances are at the Elephant Space at Theater Asylum:
Friday, May 9 - 8:00pm Saturday, May 10 - 8:00pm Sunday, May 11 - 7:00pm
Friday, May 16 - 8:00pm Saturday, May 17 - 8:00pm Sunday, May 18 - 7:00pm
Friday, May 23 - 8:00pm Saturday, May 24 - 8:00pm Sunday, May 25 - 7:00pm
Friday, May 30 - 8:00pm Saturday, May 31 - 8:00pm Sunday, June 1 - 7:00pm

Off-Broadway Articles More...


Comment & Share


About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts

BROADWAYWORLD TV